French English

Mongolia horses MarianeLacote

Biodiversity: definition and challenges

Definition of biodiversity

The concept of Biodiversity was born in 1992, at the global summit of Rio de Janeiro.
Biodiversity, a contraction of "biological diversity", which refers to the variety and diversity of the living world. In its broadest sense, this word is almost synonymous with "the variety of the living world". Biodiversity is considered at several levels:

  • Diversity of genes (Invisible diversity that is at the origin of biodiversity)

  • Species diversity (Including the human species),

  • et Diversity of ecosystems.

The Convention on Ecological Biodiversity of 5 June 1992 defined the term biodiversity as " lA variability of living organisms from all sources including, inter alia, terrestrial, marine and other aquatic ecosystems and the ecological complexes of which they are a part; This includes diversity within species and between species, as well as ecosystem diversity .

The number of species on land

1,7 million species have been described, however the estimates range from 3,6 to over 100 million species. Many species therefore remain to be discovered, at a rate which will differ according to the zoological groups. It is estimated that about 50% of vertebrate species are already known, whereas 90% of insects are still to be discovered.

The challenges of biodiversity

A reservoir of resources

Biodiversity is the subject of important issues because it constitutes a Reserves of essential resources for the development and welfare of human societies :
- Food resources,
- Pharmaceutical Resources,
- materials resources ...
All these renewable resources are sustainable, but only if they are used in an appropriate way.

The current crisis

Today, the diversity of the living world is experiencing an unprecedented erosion. Species disappear at a much higher rate than the "natural" extinction rate; Many, including some of the most common species, are declining in number and geographical areas are decreasing. It is no exaggeration to speak of a mass extinction crisis, and that - unlike the preceding ones - is indisputably the fact of man, directly or indirectly :
- pollution, fragmentation of ecosystems,
- Biological invasions
- Overexploitation,
- climatic changes…
The extent of this crisis is illustrated and mediated by the IUCN (International Union for Conservation of Nature) lists that document the status of endangered and vulnerable species throughout the world. Within this list are more 3600 species of plants, more 3500 species of vertebrates, including 25% of species of mammals.
The consequences of this "erosion" are not limited to a list of maltreated species, as they also lead to the degradation of ecosystems and the functions they play in the living system - the biosphere - and thus the services They give back to humanity.

The ecological footprint

There is currently an emblematic indicator -ecological footprint1 - which attempts to represent these societal-nature interactions and the impacts of our lifestyles on the world around us on biodiversity.

1 Called "Ecological Footprint (EE)" means the relationship between the flows of renewable natural resources used by humans and their renewal capacities. EE is constructed from the final consumption of a country and uses a conversion module to calculate the equivalent of renewable natural resources consumed. The unit of equivalence used is the hectare of ecosystem consumed by an individual (1), city, enterprise or country. This equivalence makes it possible to know how many planets Earth would be necessary if the whole of humanity consumes as a country, this or that individual, and so on.

What can be done to preserve biodiversity?

The human species profoundly modifies its environment. It acts on almost the entire surface of our planet, even on the most uninhabited spaces. Like any living being, man can not live without interacting with other species. Preserving biodiversity is therefore vital. This explains the presence of numerous nature conservation programs and tools, as well as mobilization at all levels (managers, researchers, politicians, elected officials, associations, the general public, companies, etc.).

How is biodiversity protected at the international level?

The planet is full of remarkable natural spaces, some of which are known as hot spots of biodiversity or " hot-spots ", Host a particularly important biodiversity. Many spaces (land and sea) are protected in many ways. In 2007, 110 000 sites about either 18 000 000 km² were protected from around the world, By a group of major international organizations. Among these, Unesco, with its program on humans and the biosphere, " Man and biosphere"(Mab) has the largest coordinated network for biodiversity protection with 535 protected sites in more than 100 countries.
In addition, a set of common environmental and management guidelines and policies have been established at the international level to more effectively protect biodiversity. The Convention on Biological Diversity (CBD) established in April 2002 a strategic plan whose main objective was to stop the erosion of biodiversity in 2010.
The IUCN Red List Identifies all endangered, endangered or extirpated species in the world. International laws prevent their hunting, gathering and trade.

Protecting biodiversity in France

Thanks to its overseas territories, France has a very important natural heritage: it is placed at the 4 world rank for its biodiversity. More than 12% of its surface is protected in 2009 by 46 Regional natural parks 2015. National Parks, 600 biotope stopped and more 100 000 hectares of coasts belonging to Conservatory. In addition, the European Natura 2000 network for environmental protection concerns more than 6,8 million hectares of our territory in 2008. And these numbers are constantly changing.

At the national level, the state has defined various environmental protection policies. These legal texts (laws and regulations) are grouped in the environmental code. They impose respect for ecosystems, limit the discharges of industries and individuals into the environment and the modification of natural spaces.

At the local level, different specific structures intervene at various levels in the management of the environment; Management unions, town halls. The regional directorates for the environment ...) ensure their good ecological quality and the application of regulations (prefectural orders ...). Other targeted actions also contribute to the maintenance of biodiversity.

A public increasingly concerned with biodiversity

Eco-citizenship is a value that is developing gradually with, for example, the development of ecological gestures; The design of products that respect biodiversity (such as the Bio label) and green buildings (HQE label); The development of ecotourism that respects and informs on the protection of ecosystems; The emergence of a "responsible" advertising valuing a reflective consumption and less harmful for our environment; The introduction of eco-taxes for certain polluting products (computers for example), school activities and the inclusion of this theme in the programs. This awareness in France is however recent and requires an increased mobilization of the population.

Change

Faced with the current environmental crisis, man has only one solution: to cooperate with nature. He must moderate his demands and harvest and conserve the living resources of the earth, the only way for him to ensure the continuation of his civilization.
We must change our relationship with nature. In order to change, we must first observe and understand, and then change our behavior, our choices, our practices, our policies. This implies a growing knowledge of the evolution of biodiversity, the biosphere, and the place of man on the planet.

How to measure biodiversity?

The concept of sustainable development as used today was defined in 1983 by the World Commission on Environment and Development (WCED):

« A development that meets the needs of the present generation by preserving for future generations the possibility of satisfying their »

We are only beginning to realize that our way of life is unsustainable for the planet and its inhabitants. The main question now being: How can we, under the best conditions, move to a culture of permanence, both for ourselves and for the biosphere on which we depend? »

That is why, in Rio and in Johannesburg, it was stressed that the economic and social development of mankind depends on the long-term health of the environment - biodiversity Good measure.

Biodiversity indicators

Considering biodiversity as a whole is virtually impossible, which is why specialists are working to define reliable biodiversity indicators.

The general function of a biodiversity indicator is to assess the health status of biodiversity (its viability, sustainability, resilience, productivity, etc.) in order to enable users to make decisions and evaluate them the results.

The concept of indicator of biodiversity is often reduced to that of indicator species (s) (also called bio-indicator). The presence of these species is used to characterize the quality of an environment. The notion of indicator species covers only a small part of the expected functions of a biodiversity indicator. Among the indicators used to assess biodiversity are: functional groups (eg herbivores, carnivores, ...), number Individuals of an environment or diversity in species ...

French English

Mongolie chevaux MarianeLacote

La Biodiversité : définition et enjeux

Définition de la biodiversité

Le concept de Biodiversité est né en 1992, au sommet planétaire de Rio de Janeiro.
Biodiversité, contraction de « diversité biologique », expression désignant la variété et la diversité du monde vivant. Dans son sens le plus large, ce mot est quasi synonyme de « variété du monde vivant ». La biodiversité se considère à plusieurs niveaux :

  • diversité des gènes (diversité invisible qui est à l'origine de la biodiversité)

  • diversité des espèces (dont l'espèce humaine),

  • et diversité des écosystèmes.

La Convention sur la biodiversité écologique du 5 juin 1992 a défini le terme de biodiversité comme étant « la variabilité des organismes vivants de toute origine y compris, entre autres, les écosystèmes terrestres, marins et autres écosystèmes aquatiques et les complexes écologiques dont ils font partie; cela comprend la diversité au sein des espèces et entre espèces ainsi que celle des écosystèmes ».

Le nombre d’espèces sur terre

1,7 millions d'espèces ont été décrites, cependant les estimations vont de 3,6 à plus de 100 millions d'espèces. Nombre d'espèces restent donc à découvrir, et ce à un rythme qui différera selon les groupes zoologiques. On estime qu’on connaît déjà environ 50% des espèces de vertébrés, alors que 90% des insectes sont encore à découvrir.

Les enjeux de la biodiversité

Un réservoir de ressources

La biodiversité est l’objet d’enjeux importants car elle constitue un réservoir de ressources essentielles pour le développement et le bien-être des sociétés humaines :
-    ressources alimentaires,
-    ressources pharmaceutiques,
-    ressources en matériaux…
Toutes ces ressources renouvelables sont durables, mais à condition d’être exploitées de manière adaptée.

La crise actuelle

De nos jours, la diversité du vivant connaît une érosion sans précédent. Des espèces disparaissent à un rythme bien supérieur au taux d’extinction « naturel »; beaucoup, y compris parmi les espèces les plus communes voient leurs effectifs décroître d’année en année et leurs aires géographiques se restreindre. Il n’est pas exagéré de parler d’une crise d’extinction en masse, et celle là – à la différence des précédentes – est indiscutablement le fait de l’homme, de manière directe ou indirecte :
-    pollution, morcellement des écosystèmes,
-    invasions biologiques,
-    surexploitation,
-    changements climatiques…
L’étendue de cette crise est illustrée et médiatisée par les listes de l’UICN (Union Internationale de Conservation de la Nature) qui dressent l’état des espèces en danger et vulnérables de par le monde. Au sein de cette liste figurent plus de 3600 espèces de plantes, plus de 3500 espèces de vertébrés, dont 25% d’espèces de mammifères.
Les conséquences de cette « érosion » ne se réduisent pas seulement à une liste d’espèces malmenées puisqu’elles entraînent aussi la dégradation des écosystèmes, ainsi que des fonctions que ces derniers exercent dans le système vivant - la biosphère - et donc des services qu’ils rendent à l’humanité.

L'empreinte écologique

Il existe actuellement un indicateur emblématique - l’empreinte écologique1  - qui tente de représenter ces interactions société-nature et les impacts de nos modes de vie sur le monde qui nous entoure donc sur la biodiversité.

1 On appelle « Empreinte écologique (EE) » le rapport entre les flux de ressources naturelles renouvelables utilisées par l’homme et les capacités de renouvellement de celles-ci. L’EE est construite à partir de la consommation finale d’un pays et utilise un module de conversion qui permet de calculer l’équivalent de ressources naturelles renouvelables consommées. L’unité d’équivalence utilisée est l’hectare d’écosystème consommé par un individu(1), une ville, une entreprise ou un pays. Cet équivalent permet de savoir combien de planètes Terre seraient nécessaires si l’ensemble de l’humanité consommait comme tel ou tel pays, tel ou tel individu, etc.

Que faire pour préserver la biodiversité ?

L'espèce humaine modifie profondément son environnement. Elle agit sur la quasi-totalité de la surface de notre planète, même sur les espaces qui les plus inhabités. Comme tout être vivant, l'Homme ne peut pas vivre sans interagir avec d'autres espèces. Préserver la biodiversité lui est donc vital. Ceci explique la présence de nombreux programmes et outils de sauvegarde de la nature ainsi qu'une mobilisation à tous les niveaux (gestionnaires, chercheurs, politiques, élus, associations, grand public, entreprises, etc.).

Comment la biodiversité est-elle protégée au niveau international ?

La planète regorge d'espaces naturels remarquables dont certaines zones, nommées points chauds de la biodiversité ou « hot-spots », accueillent une biodiversité particulièrement importante. De nombreux espaces (terrestres et maritimes) sont protégés, de multiples façons. En 2007, 110 000 sites environ soit 18 000 000 km² étaient protégés de part le monde, et ce par un ensemble de grandes organisations internationales. Parmi celles-ci, l'Unesco avec son programme sur les humains et la biosphère, « Man and biosphère» (Mab) possède le plus important réseau coordonné de protection de la biodiversité avec 535 sites protégés dans plus de 100 pays.
De plus, un ensemble de directives et politiques communes de gestion des milieux et des espèces ont été établies au niveau international afin de protéger plus efficacement la biodiversité. La Convention sur la diversité biologique (CDB) a établi en avril 2002 un plan stratégique dont l'objectif principal était d'arrêter l'érosion de la biodiversité en 2010.
La liste rouge de l'UICN recense quant à elle l'ensemble des espèces en danger, en voie d'extinction ou disparues dans le monde. Des lois internationales empêchent leur chasse, leur cueillette et leur commerce.

La protection de la biodiversité en France

La France compte grâce à ses territoires d'outre-mer un patrimoine naturel très important : elle est placée au 4e rang mondial pour sa biodiversité. Plus de 12 % de sa surface est protégée en 2009 par 46 parcs naturels régionaux, 9 parcs nationaux, 600 arrêtés de biotope et plus 100 000 hectares de littoraux appartenant au Conservatoire du littoral. De plus, le réseau européen Natura 2000 de protection des milieux concerne plus de 6,8 millions d'hectares de notre territoire en 2008. Et ces chiffres sont en constante évolution.

Au niveau national, l'état a défini différentes politiques de protection de l'environnement. Ces textes juridiques (lois et règlements) sont regroupés dans le code de l'environnement. Ils imposent un respect des écosystèmes, limitent les rejets des industries et des particuliers dans l'environnement et la modification des espaces naturels.

Au niveau local, différentes structures spécifiques interviennent à des niveaux divers dans la gestion de l'environnement ; syndicats de gestion, mairies. Les directions régionales de l'environnement...) veillent à leur bonne qualité écologique et à l'application des réglementations (arrêtés préfectoraux...). D'autres actions ciblées contribuent également au maintien de la biodiversité.

Un public de plus en plus concerné par la biodiversité

L'écocitoyenneté est une valeur qui se développe progressivement avec par exemple le développement des gestes écologiques ; la conception de produits respectueux de la biodiversité (comme le label Bio) et les constructions écologiques (label HQE) ; l'essor de l'écotourisme qui respecte et informe sur la protection des écosystèmes ; l'émergence d'une publicité « responsable » valorisant une consommation réfléchie et moins néfaste pour notre environnement ; la mise en place d'éco-taxes pour certains produits polluants (les ordinateurs par exemple), les animations en milieu scolaire et la prise en compte de ce thème dans les programmes. Cette prise de conscience en France est cependant récente et nécessite une mobilisation accrue de la population.

Changer

Face à la crise environnementale actuelle l’homme n’a plus qu’une solution : coopérer avec la nature. Il doit modérer ses demandes et prélèvement et conserver les ressources vivantes de la terre, seule manière pour lui d’assurer la poursuite de sa civilisation.
Nous devons changer nos relations avec la nature. Pour changer il faut d’abord observer et comprendre pour ensuite modifier nos comportements, nos choix, nos pratiques, nos politiques. Cela suppose un développement des connaissances sur l’évolution de la biodiversité, de la biosphère, et la place de l’homme sur la planète.

Comment mesurer la biodiversité ?

Le concept de développement durable tel qu’employé aujourd’hui a été défini en 1983 par la Commission Mondiale sur l’Environnement et le Développement (CMED) :

« Un développement qui satisfait les besoins de la génération présente en préservant pour les générations futures la possibilité de satisfaire les leurs »

Nous commençons seulement à prendre conscience que notre mode de vie est insoutenable pour la planète et ses habitants. La question principale actuelle étant : « comment pouvons-nous, dans les meilleures conditions, passer à une culture de la permanence, tant pour nous-mêmes que pour la biosphère dont nous dépendons ? »

Voilà pourquoi, à Rio comme à Johannesburg, on a insisté sur un fait encore sous-estimé, à savoir que le développement économique et social de l’humanité dépend de la santé à long terme de l’environnement – ce dont la biodiversité serait une bonne mesure.

Indicateurs de biodiversité

Étudier l’ensemble de la biodiversité est quasi impossible, voilà pourquoi les spécialistes travaillent à définir des indicateurs de biodiversité fiables.

La fonction générale d’un indicateur de biodiversité est d’évaluer l’état de santé de la biodiversité (sa viabilité, sa durabilité, sa résilience, sa productivité…), afin de permettre aux utilisateurs de prendre des décisions et d’en évaluer les conséquences.

La notion d’indicateur de biodiversité est souvent réduite à celle d’espèce(s) indicatrice(s) (aussi appelée bio-indicateur). La présence de ces espèces est utilisée pour caractériser la qualité d’un milieu. La notion d’espèce indicatrice ne couvre qu’une petite part des fonctions attendues d’un indicateur de biodiversité, on distingue également parmi les indicateurs utilisés pour évaluer la biodiversité : des groupes fonctionnels (ex : herbivores, carnivores, …), le nombre d’individus d’un milieu ou la diversité en espèces…