French English

French Polynesia Cetaceans PamelaCarzon 3

= Tourism eco-volunteering?

Definition reminder:

Tourism includes activities that people undertake while traveling and staying in places outside of their usual environment for leisure, business or other purposes ". Source: tourisme.gouv.fr
« Action to travel, to visit a site for pleasure - All activities, techniques used for travel and leisure stays ". Source Larousse.fr

Definition of eco-volunteering

Registration requirement

The tourism code (law 2009-888 of 24 July 2009) imposes the registration in the Register of the Operators of Travels and Stay. This also applies to associations (Atout France)1 . The registration of a natural or legal person established in France2 is compulsory to carry on the activity of operator of trips and stays. The same applies to any natural or legal person who is a national of a Member State of the European Union and settles in France to carry out this activity.

What does the use of the term tourism mean?

The sales activities of trips and stays present physical and pecuniary risks. Registration in the register of travel and holiday operators aims to control as much as possible these risks by subjecting the operators to obligations of financial guarantee, professional liability insurance and professional aptitude.

Clearly, the fact that the ecovolunteer organization has a registration in the Register of Travel Operators and Stay is the guarantee for eco-volunteers that the organizer of their mission has financial guarantees, the necessary professional aptitude the organization of travel, and that the mission can be guaranteed by travel insurance / cancellation.

We underline the fact that French associations and NGOs are subject to the obligation to have a registration in the register of travel operators and stays as soon as they organize trips that do not fit into one of these frames: trip to the occasion of the General Assembly, exceptional trip or related to the functioning3. This registration must be clearly displayed by the structures that have them.


(1) Reminder of the new rules of the profession of travel and holiday operators - 05 / 07 / 2012 http://www.artisanat-commerce-tourisme.gouv.fr/rappel-des-nouvelles-regles-profession-des-operateurs-voyages-et-sejours

(2)Extracts from the French Tourism Code

Article L211-1 of the Tourism Code - Modified by 2009 LAW 888-22 July 2009 - art. 1

I.- This chapter applies to natural or legal persons who engage or assist, whatever the modalities of their remuneration, the operations consisting of the organization or sale:

a) individual or group trips or stays;

(b) Services that may be provided on the occasion of travel or stays, including the issue of tickets, the booking of rooms in hotel establishments or tourist accommodation and the issue of accommodation vouchers or restoration; ...

IV.-Associations and non-profit organizations may carry out all or part of the operations mentioned in I in favor of their members. ....

(3) Tourism Code - article L211-18

French English

PolynesieFrancaise cetaces PamelaCarzon 3

Ecovolontariat = Tourisme ?

Rappel de définition :

Le tourisme comprend « les activités déployées par les personnes au cours de leurs voyages et de leurs séjours dans des lieux situés en dehors de leur environnement habituel à des fins de loisirs, pour affaires ou autres motifs ». Source : tourisme.gouv.fr
« Action de voyager, de visiter un site pour son plaisir – Ensemble des activités, des techniques mises en œuvre pour les voyages et les séjours d’agrément ». Source Larousse.fr

Définition de l'écovolontariat

Obligation d’immatriculation

Le code du tourisme (loi 2009-888 du 24 juillet 2009) impose l’immatriculation au Registre des Opérateurs de Voyages et de Séjour. Cela s’applique également aux associations (Atout France)1 . L’immatriculation d’une personne physique ou morale établie en France2  est obligatoire pour exercer l’activité d’opérateur de voyages et de séjours. Il en va de même de toute personne physique ou morale ressortissante d’un État membre de l’Union européenne s’établissant en France pour exercer cette activité.

Qu’implique l’utilisation du terme tourisme ?

Les activités de vente de voyages et de séjours présentent des risques physiques et pécuniaires. L'immatriculation au registre des opérateurs de voyages et de séjours vise à maîtriser autant que possible ces risques en soumettant les opérateurs à des obligations de garantie financière, d'assurance de responsabilité civile professionnelle et d'aptitude professionnelle.

En clair, le fait que l’organisme d’écovolontariat dispose d’une immatriculation au Registre des Opérateurs de Voyages et de Séjour est la garantie pour les écovolontaires que l’organisateur de leur mission dispose des garanties financières, de l’aptitude professionnelle nécessaire à l’organisation de voyages, et que la mission pourra être garantie par une assurance voyage/annulation.

Nous soulignons le fait que les associations et ONG françaises sont soumises à l’obligation de disposer d’une immatriculation au registre des opérateurs de voyages et de séjours dès qu’elles organisent des voyages qui ne rentrent pas dans un de ces cadres : voyage à l’occasion d’Assemblée Générale, voyage exceptionnel ou lié au fonctionnement3. Cette immatriculation doit être clairement affichée par les structures qui en disposent.


(1) Rappel des nouvelles règles de la profession des opérateurs de voyages et de séjours - 05/07/2012 http://www.artisanat-commerce-tourisme.gouv.fr/rappel-des-nouvelles-regles-profession-des-operateurs-voyages-et-sejours

(2) Extraits du code du tourisme Français

Article L211-1 du Code du Tourisme - Modifié par LOI n°2009-888 du 22 juillet 2009 - art. 1

I.- Le présent chapitre s'applique aux personnes physiques ou morales qui se livrent ou apportent leur concours, quelles que soient les modalités de leur rémunération, aux opérations consistant en l'organisation ou la vente :

a) De voyages ou de séjours individuels ou collectifs ;

b) De services pouvant être fournis à l'occasion de voyages ou de séjours, notamment la délivrance de titres de transport, la réservation de chambres dans des établissements hôteliers ou dans des locaux d'hébergement touristique et la délivrance de bons d'hébergement ou de restauration ; …

IV.-Les associations et les organismes sans but lucratif ne peuvent réaliser tout ou partie des opérations mentionnées au I qu'en faveur de leurs membres. ….

(3) Code du tourisme – article L211-18