French English

The main species studied

cetaceans

Pets very sensitive to environmental changes, that are indicator species of environmental quality. More information on their geographical distribution and their behavior would better understand the natural (food ...) and anthropogenic (maritime traffic, pollution, global warming ...) impacting on these protected species.

fin whale (Balaenoptera physalus)

Max: 25 m

It is the second largest animal in the world, and the most frequently observed whale.

Fin whales live alone or in small groups. They have a very slender body, with a small dorsal fin. The upper part of their body is usually seen from the surface. Their breath is noisy and vertical, it can reach 6 meters high. Species classified as "vunable" in the Mediterranean Sea (IUCN Red List).

cybelle mediterranean BP

Sperm whale (Physeter macrocephalus)

Max: 18 m

The sperm whale does not have a dorsal fin, it is replaced by a protuberance. His breath is oblique on the left side. He leaves his tail when he leaves in probe. Mostly observed alone, one can meet large groups of several hundred individuals. Species classified as "endangered" in the Mediterranean Sea (IUCN Red List).

cybelle mediterranean PM

pilot whale (Globicephala melas)

Max: 7 m

It is a black cetacean, with a white mark on the belly. Its head is voluminous with a convex forehead, its dorsal fin broad and rounded. Pilot whales live in groups. Species classified as "Data deficient" in the Mediterranean Sea (IUCN Red List), there is a lack of information on this species to classify it.cybelle mediterranean GM

Bottlenose dolphin (Tursiops truncatus)

Max: 4 m

It is a large gray dolphin with a robust body, a short snout and a well marked melon. The general appearance of this dolphin was popularized by the soap opera "Flipper". Species classified as "vunable" in the Mediterranean Sea (IUCN Red List).this tursiops

Risso (Grampus griseus)

Max: 4 m

This dolphin, with a robust body, has a massive head with a globular forehead and a high dorsal fin. Gray in color, his body is covered with scars that can make him look almost white. Species classified as "Data deficient" in the Mediterranean Sea (IUCN Red List), there is a lack of information on this species to classify it.cybelle mediterranean GG

Striped dolphin (Stenella coeruleoalba)

Max: 2,6 m
It is a small dolphin with a slender body. Its color is complex with gray-blue bands shaped characteristics of "waves" on the flanks. His throat and belly are white or cream. This is a very common dolphin off the French coast. Not to be confused with the common dolphin (Delphinus delphis). Species classified as "vunable" in the Mediterranean Sea (IUCN Red List).

this BB dolphin

common dolphin (Delphinus delphis)

Max: 2,6 m

It is a small dolphin .. The back part of its body is dark brown to black. The drawings are complex it, forming in the fin a triangle pointing downwards. The flanks are beige-orange with a shaped design of horizontal hourglass. His throat and belly are white or cream. It is rare to cross off the French coast compared to the striped dolphin (Stenella coeruleoalba). Not to be confused with the striped dolphin (Stenella coeruleoalba). Species classified as "endangered" in the Mediterranean Sea (IUCN Red List).common dolphin

Cuvier Whale (Ziphius cavirostris)

Max: 6 m

Discrete species and rarely observed, this small cetacean has only 2 teeth at the end of the lower jaw. Solitary, it is sometimes found in small groups. Champion of apnea, he feeds essentially squid and fish living in the shoals. Species classified as "Data deficient" in the Mediterranean Sea (IUCN Red List), there is a lack of information on this species to classify it.

Cañadas, A. 2012. Ziphius cavirostris. The IUCN Red List of Threatened Species 2012: e.T23211A2785108.

Marine turtles

At sea turtles are accidentally captured by fishing nets and are victims of pollution, by eating plastic bags they mistake for jellyfish. Also, to better protect sea turtles, it is very important to understand their migration patterns.

loggerhead turtle (Caretta caretta)

Max: 120 cm (carapace length)

This sea turtle has a red-brown carapace in the shape of a heart. Its head is big and rounded, and its beak powerful and massive. On its shell there are five lateral scales. It is the most common species in the western Mediterranean.

cybelle mediterranean caretta

macroplankton

Their presence is more or less important according to the seasons or years. It seems that their range changes in recent decades, with global warming. The information collected through this program will be used to better understand the spatial and temporal distribution.

Aurélie (Aurelia aurita)

Max: 40 cm (diameter)

The saucer-shaped jellyfish lets see-through 4 gonads horseshoe. She has a lot of tentacles for devices and 4 oral tentacles. It can be very abundant.

cybelle mediterranean Aurelia

Pelagie (Pelagia noctiluca)

Max: 17 cm (diameter)

This jellyfish, mushroom-shaped, has 8 purposes peripheral tentacles and oral tentacles 4. It has many warts on the body and is brown to pink color, phosphorescent night. She is very stinging and can be very abundant.

cybelle mediterranean pelagie

Rhizostome (Rhizostoma Pulmo)

Max: 60 cm (diameter)

This massive jellyfish has a milky white body. His umbel is hemmed bluish fringes. She has no peripheral tentacle but has 8 thick tentacles. It is very stinging. Rather solitary, it can be observed in schools of several hundred individuals.

cybelle mediterranean rhisostome

Medusa 'fried egg"(Cotylorhiza tuberculata)

Max: 40 cm (diameter)

Medusa with clear umbrella raised in the center in the form of yellow disc. Many tentacles ending in small purple discs. Very little stinging, rather solitary. Mediterranean endemic species.

cybelle mediterranean cotylorhiza

compass jellyfish (Chrysaora hysoscella)

Max: 30 cm (diameter)

This is a mushroom-shaped jellyfish. She 16 radial bands of brown on the umbel, 24 peripheral transparent tentacles and oral tentacles 4 very scalloped. It's a big very stinging jellyfish. She lives in a group and can be very abundant.

cybelle mediterranean Chrysaora

Sunfish (Mola mola)

Max: 300 cm

Fish with a flattened, plate-shaped body, with developed dorsal and anal fins, and very small pectoral fins. It is gray-white in color. A typical open-water fish, it often floats near the surface, its dorsal fin protrudes above water. It feeds mainly on jellyfish.

cybelle mediterranean mola

Devil Mediterranean Sea (Mobula mobular)

Max: 5 m

Species with 2 body both wider than long, it has at the front of the head two "horns" flattened. The Sea Devil often wears a brown-black area just behind the head, and a white belly contrasts with the rest of the gray-blue body. Ray living mainly in the south-western Mediterranean, its migration seems to depend partly on the temperature of the waters. She lives in superficial offshore waters, between 0 and 30 meters deep. Species classified as "endangered" in the Mediterranean Sea (IUCN Red List).cybelle mediterranee mobula

shark Pilgrim (Cetorhinus maximus)

MAX SIZE: 12 M

The basking shark is a fish that can reach 12 meters long, it is considered the second largest living fish on earth, after the whale shark. Easily recognizable with its high fin and distended mouth when feeding (mainly plankton). Species classified as "endangered" in the Mediterranean Sea (IUCN Red List).

cybelle mediterranean pelerin


OBSenMER
lilo
funding

French English

Les principales espèces étudiées

Les cétacés

Animaux très sensibles aux modifications de l’environnement, ce sont des espèces indicatrices de la qualité du milieu. De plus amples informations sur leur répartition géographique et leur comportement permettraient de mieux comprendre les facteurs naturels (nourriture,…) et anthropiques (trafic maritime, pollution, réchauffement climatique, …) ayant un impact sur ces espèces protégées.

Rorqual commun (Balaenoptera physalus)

Taille max : 25 m

C’est le deuxième plus grand animal au monde, et le rorqual le plus fréquemment observé.

Les rorquals communs vivent seuls ou en petits groupes. Ils possèdent un corps très élancé, avec une petite nageoire dorsale. On observe généralement la partie supérieure de leur corps depuis la surface. Leur souffle est bruyant et vertical, il peut atteindre 6 mètres de haut. Espèce classée comme "vunérable" en mer méditerranée (Liste Rouge IUCN).

cybelle mediterranee BP

Cachalot (Physeter macrocephalus)

Taille max : 18 m

Le cachalot ne possède pas d’aileron dorsal, celui-ci est remplacé par une protubérance. Son souffle est oblique du côté gauche. Il sort sa queue lorsqu’il part en sonde. Observé la plupart du temps seul, on peut rencontrer de gros regroupements de plusieurs centaines d’individus. Espèce classée comme "en danger" en mer méditerranée (Liste Rouge IUCN).

cybelle mediterranee PM

Globicéphale noir (Globicephala melas)

Taille max : 7 m

Il s’agit d’un cétacé de couleur noire, avec une marque blanche sur le ventre. Sa tête est volumineuse au front bombé, son aileron dorsal large et arrondi. Les globicéphales noirs vivent en groupe. Espèce classée comme "Data deficient " en mer méditerranée (Liste Rouge IUCN), on manque d'information sur cette espèce pour la classer.cybelle mediterranee GM

Grand dauphin (Tursiops truncatus)

Taille max : 4 m

Il s’agit d’un dauphin gris de grande taille, son corps est robuste, avec un museau court et un melon bien marqué. L’allure générale de ce dauphin a été popularisée par le feuilleton «Flipper». Espèce classée comme "vunérable" en mer méditerranée (Liste Rouge IUCN).cet tursiops

Dauphin de Risso (Grampus griseus)

Taille max : 4 m

Ce dauphin, au corps robuste, possède une tête massive avec un front globuleux et un aileron dorsal haut. De couleur grise, son corps est recouvert de cicatrices qui peuvent le faire paraître presque blanc. Espèce classée comme "Data deficient " en mer méditerranée (Liste Rouge IUCN), on manque d'information sur cette espèce pour la classer.cybelle mediterranee GG

Dauphin bleu et blanc (Stenella coeruleoalba)

Taille max : 2,6 m
C’est un dauphin de petite taille au corps élancé. Sa coloration est complexe avec des bandes gris-bleu caractéristiques en forme de « vagues » sur les flancs. Sa gorge et son ventre sont blancs ou crèmes. Il s’agit d’un dauphin très fréquent au large des côtes françaises. A ne pas confondre avec le dauphin commun (Delphinus delphis)Espèce classée comme "vunérable" en mer méditerranée (Liste Rouge IUCN).

cet dauphin BB

Dauphin commun (Delphinus delphis)

Taille max : 2,6 m

C’est un dauphin de petite taille.. La partie dorsale de son corps est brun foncée à noire. Les dessins y sont complexes, formant sous l’aileron un triangle pointé vers le bas. Les flancs sont beiges-orangés avec un dessin en forme de sablier horizontal. Sa gorge et son ventre sont blancs ou crèmes. Il est plus rare de le croiser au large des côtes françaises comparé au dauphin bleu et blanc (Stenella coeruleoalba). A ne pas confondre avec le dauphin bleu et blanc (Stenella coeruleoalba). Espèce classée comme "en danger" en mer méditerranée (Liste Rouge IUCN).dauphin commun

Baleine de Cuvier (Ziphius cavirostris)

Taille max : 6 m

Espèce discrète et rarement observée, ce petit cétacé ne possède que 2 dents à l'extrémité de la mâchoire inférieure. Solitaire, on le rencontre parfois en petits groupes. Champion d'apnée, il se nourrit essenciellement de calamars et de poissons vivant dans les hauts fonds. Espèce classée comme "Data deficient " en mer méditerranée (Liste Rouge IUCN), on manque d'information sur cette espèce pour la classer.

Cañadas, A. 2012. Ziphius cavirostris. The IUCN Red List of Threatened Species 2012: e.T23211A2785108.

Les tortues marines

En mer, les tortues sont capturées accidentellement par les filets des pêcheurs et sont victimes de la pollution, par l’ingestion de sacs plastiques qu’elles confondent avec des méduses. Aussi, pour mieux protéger les tortues marines, il est très important de comprendre leurs habitudes de migration.

Tortue Caouanne (Caretta caretta)

Taille max : 120 cm (longueur de la carapace)

Cette tortue marine a une carapace brun-rouge en forme de cœur. Sa tête est grosse et arrondie, et son bec puissant et massif. Sur sa carapace on compte cinq écailles latérales. C’est l’espèce la plus commune en Méditerranée occidentale.

cybelle mediterranee caretta

Le macroplancton

Leur présence est plus ou moins importante suivant les saisons ou les années. Il semble que leur aire de répartition change depuis quelques décennies, avec le réchauffement climatique. Les informations collectées dans le cadre de ce programme serviront à mieux comprendre leur répartition spatiale et temporelle.

Aurélie (Aurelia aurita)

Taille max : 40 cm (diamètre)

Cette méduse en forme de soucoupe laisse voir par transparence 4 gonades en fer à cheval. Elle a un grand nombre de fins tentacules périphériques et 4 tentacules buccaux. Elle peut être très abondante.

cybelle mediterranee aurelia

Pélagie (Pelagia noctiluca)

Taille max : 17 cm (diamètre)

Cette méduse, en forme de champignon, possède 8 fins tentacules périphériques, et 4 tentacules buccaux. Elle a de nombreuses verrues sur le corps, et est de coloration rose à brun, phosphorescente la nuit. Elle est très urticante et peut être très abondante.

cybelle mediterranee pelagie

Rhizostome (Rhizostoma pulmo)

Taille max : 60 cm (diamètre)

Cette méduse massive a un corps blanc laiteux. Son ombelle est ourlée de franges bleuâtres. Elle n’a pas de tentacule périphérique mais possède 8 tentacules épais. Elle est très peu urticante. Plutôt solitaire, elle peut être observée en bancs de plusieurs centaines d’individus.

cybelle mediterranee rhisostome

Méduse  "œuf au plat" (Cotylorhiza tuberculata)

Taille max : 40 cm (diamètre)

Méduse à ombrelle claire relevée au centre en forme de disque jaunâtre. De nombreux tentacules terminés par de petits disques violets. Très peu urticante, plutôt solitaire. Espèce endémique de Méditerranée.

cybelle mediterranee Cotylorhiza

Méduse boussole (Chrysaora hysoscella)

Taille max : 30 cm (diamètre)

C’est une méduse en forme de champignon. Elle a 16 bandes radiales de couleur brune sur l’ombelle, 24 tentacules transparents périphériques, et 4 tentacules buccaux très festonnés. C’est une grosse méduse très urticante. Elle vit en groupe et peut être très abondante.

cybelle mediterranee Chrysaora

Poisson lune (Mola mola)

Taille max : 300 cm

Poisson au corps aplati en forme d’assiette, aux nageoires dorsale et anale développées, et aux nageoires pectorales très petites. Il est de couleur gris-blanc.Poisson typiquement de pleine mer, il flotte souvent près de la surface, sa nageoire dorsale dépasse de l’eau. Il se nourrit principalement de méduses.

cybelle mediterranee mola

Diable de Mer Méditerranéen (Mobula mobular)

Taille max : 5 m

Espèce au corps 2 fois plus large que long, elle possède à l’avant de la tête deux « cornes » aplaties. Le Diable de mer arbore souvent une zone brun-noir juste derrière la tête, et un ventre blanc contrastant avec le reste du corps gris-bleu. Raie vivant principalement en méditerranée sud-occidentale, sa migration semble dépendre en partie de la température des eaux. Elle vit dans les eaux du large superficielles, entre 0 et 30 mètres de profondeur. Espèce classée comme "en danger" en mer méditerranée (Liste Rouge IUCN).cybelle mediterranee mobula

Requin Pèlerin (Cetorhinus maximus)

TAILLE MAX : 12 M

Le requin pèlerin est un poisson qui peut atteindre 12 mètres de long, il est considéré comme le second poisson le plus grand vivant sur terre, après le requin-baleine. Facilement reconnaissable avec sa haute nageoire et sa bouche distendue lorsqu’il se nourrit (principalement de plancton). Espèce classée comme "en danger" en mer méditerranée (Liste Rouge IUCN).

cybelle mediterranee pelerin

 


 

OBSenMER
lilo
financement