French English

Publications and results

map observations

Improve knowledge on offshore marine species

In general, scientists and managers need basic knowledge about animals living at large (eg counting, geographical distribution ...) and monitor the populations in the long run and on the whole territory. This information is a basis for decision making for conserving species and their environment.

The data collected as part of the Cybelle Mediterranean program allow to have:

> A field observatory : the recurrence of the trips in the same sector (Var, French Riviera) allows, in the long term, to follow the evolution of the populations. For example, Cybelle Planète collects expert level data in Pelagos Sanctuary since 2005, at the rate of 2000 km traveled per year on average.

> Monitoring simple parameters in the long term : number of observations or number of individuals per km traveled, average size of groups of animals, geographical distribution of different species, photo-identified animals ...

All this information, coupled with scientific data (eg genetic analyzes satellite data, bathymetry) ensure the conduct of biological research campaigns behavior, population biology and conservation. These studies data from participatory science on the same level as those from research.

Publications

Since 2005, about fifteen publications or scientific reports have used the data of Cybelle Méditerranée:

> The study of Grand Dauphin populations (Tursiops truncatus) in Mediterranean,

> The study of Risso dolphin populations (Grampus griseus) in the Mediterranean Sea,

> The characterization of preferential habitats large cetaceans (fin whales and sperm whales) and areas at high risk of collision with the merchant ships,

> The general study of Cetacean populations in the Mediterranean Sea and in the Pelagos sanctuary.

cybelle mediterranean publications


OBSenMER
lilo
funding

French English

Publications et résultats

carte observations

Améliorer les connaissances sur les espèces marines du large

De manière générale, les scientifiques et les gestionnaires ont besoin de connaissances de base sur les animaux vivant au large (exemple : dénombrement, distribution géographique...) et de suivis des populations sur le long terme et sur l'ensemble du territoire. Ces informations sont une base nécessaire à la prise de décisions de conservation des espèces et de leur environnement.

Les données récoltées dans le cadre du programme Cybelle Méditerranée permettent d'avoir :

> Un observatoire de terrain : la récurrence des sorties dans le même secteur (Var, Côte d'Azur) permet, sur le long terme, de suivre l'évolution des populations. Par exemple, Cybelle Planète collecte des données de niveau expert dans le sanctuaire Pélagos depuis 2005, à raison de 2000 km parcouru par an en moyenne.

> Le suivi de paramètres simples sur le long terme : nombre d'observations ou nombre d'individus par km parcouru, taille moyenne des groupes d'animaux, distribution géographique des différentes espèces, animaux photo-identifiés...

> Un catalogue de photo-identification

Toutes ces informations, couplées à des données scientifiques (ex : analyses génétiques, données satellitaires, bathymétrie) permettent de mener des campagnes de recherche en biologie du comportement, biologie des populations, et conservation des espèces. Ces études mettent les données issues des sciences participatives au même rang que celles issues de la recherche.

Publications

Depuis 2005, une quinzaines de publications ou de rapports scientifiques ont utilisé les données de Cybelle Méditerranée :

> L'étude des populations de Grand Dauphin (Tursiops truncatus) en méditerranée,

> L'étude des populations de Dauphin de Risso (Grampus griseus) en mer méditerranée,

> La caractérisation des habitats préférentiels de grand cétacés (Rorqual commun et Cachalot) et les zones à haut risque de collision avec les navires marchands,

> L'étude générale des populations de cétacés en mer méditerranée et dans le sanctuaire Pélagos.

publications cybelle méditerranée

 


 

OBSenMER
lilo
financement