French English

All our missions take place in a local context, And will thus have more or less an impact on local economic development: job creation, consumption of local products ... as well as local biodiversity. Some eco-volunteer missions may also contain a local ecodevelopment aspect. Although not the main object of the mission, this can bring a real "plus" for the ecovolunteers. Ecovolunteer missions sometimes integrate the concept of eco-development into their program. Eco-volunteers will be able to participate and help.
Local ecodevelopment will integrate local initiatives and / or the inhabitants themselves in the construction of a development in respect of the environment. This makes ecodevelopment an essential component of sustainable development.
Ecodevelopment can take as many forms as there are human cultures and ecosystems. In all cases The priority objective is to guarantee the improvement of the living conditions of the inhabitants and the generations to come.
This can be done through the development of alternative economic activities to local uses that destroy biodiversity. For example, through the development of ecotourism activities that eventually generate a sustainable source of employment for the inhabitants, who until then had had as their sole resource the exploitation of local biodiversity through fishing and agriculture. It is also possible to propose new alternative jobs to premises that until then had illegal practices such as poaching. A great way to use their knowledge of the environment and species for their protection!
Ecodevelopment can also involve the development of activities that generate resources for the environment and for the inhabitants. For example, developing organic farming crops adapted to the local environment can create both sustainable jobs and healthy food for local people. Agroforestry can provide sustainable, short-term and long-term income through the production of timber or fruit.
Finally, the recognition of a site as a reserve, natural parks, or biosphere reserve greatly facilitates the development of sustainable economic activities.
Any ecodevelopment project requires a preliminary preparation which consists of identifying the areas to be protected or of major interest in terms of biodiversity; Inventory local fauna and flora; Identify threats and pressures on biodiversity; To identify the major social, economic and cultural issues ... this preliminary step will have to be accompanied by the establishment of social dialogues, the formation of premises and environmental awareness sessions.

Amazon Rainforest: research, conservation, and ...

It is in the Amazonian forest of Peru, in the Manu reserve, that you can participate in a complete program of conservation, scientific research, and development support ...

Ecological monitoring and surveillance in the reserve ...

Ecological monitoring in a community reserve of South Benin During this mission, you will contribute to the ecological monitoring and the surveillance in ...

Study of the mangrove birds of the coastal lagoon at ...

This mission is for those who like to observe birds! You participate in the development of an eco-development program in Benin focused on the bird fauna of wetlands. You...

Protection and study of primates in Benin

Restoration of primate habitat in the Mono Valley, Benin This mission immerses you in an eco-development program in Benin. The project aims to set up a ...

Mangrove planting and environmental education ...

During this mission you will have the opportunity to contribute to a mangrove reforestation program Ahémé Lake and Avloh and Benin and environmental education. This program is ...

Conservation of marine turtles in Nicaragua

This mission is taking place on an island on the Pacific coast of Nicaragua, in one of the largest nesting sites for marine turtles in the eastern Pacific. You will contribute to the patrols ...

Find a job

French English

Toutes nos missions se déroulent dans un contexte local, et vont ainsi avoir plus ou moins un impact sur le développement économique local : création d'emploi, consommation de produits locaux... ainsi que sur la biodiversité locale. Certaines missions d'écovolontariat peuvent également contenir un aspect d'écodéveloppement local. Bien que l'étant pas l'objet principal de la mission, cela peut apporter un vrais « plus » pour les écovolontaires. Les missions d'écovolontariat intègrent parfois le concept d'écodéveloppement au sein de leur programme. Les écovolontaires pourront y participer et apporter leur aide.
L'écodéveloppement local va intégrer des initiatives locales et/ou les habitants eux même dans la construction d'un développement dans le respect de l'environnement. Cela fait de l'écodéveloppement une composante essentielle du développement durable.
L'écodéveloppement peut prendre autant de formes qu'il existe de cultures humaines et d'écosystèmes. Dans tous les cas l'objectif prioritaire est de garantir l'amélioration des conditions de vie des habitants et des générations à venir.
Cela peut se faire par le développement d'activités économiques alternatives à des usages locaux détruisant la biodiversité. Par exemple par de développement d'activités écotouristiques générant à terme une source d'emploi durable pour les habitants qui, jusque-là, avaient comme unique ressource l'exploitation de la biodiversité locale par la pêche, l'agriculture. Il est possible également de proposer de nouveaux emplois alternatifs aux locaux qui jusque là avait des pratiques illégales telles que le braconnage. Un excellent moyen d'utiliser leur connaissance du milieu et des espèces pour leur protection !
L'écodéveloppement peut également concerner le développement d'activités génératrices de ressources pour l'environnement et pour les habitants. Par exemple, en développant des cultures agricoles biologiques adaptées à l'environnement local, on peut créer à la fois des emplois durables et de la nourriture saine pour les locaux. L'agroforesterie peut fournir des revenus durables à court et long terme, par la production de bois ou de fruits.
Enfin, la reconnaissance d'un site comme réserve, parcs naturel, ou réserve de la biosphère, facilite grandement de développement d'activités économiques durables.
Tout projet d'écodéveloppement demande une préparation préliminaire qui consiste à repérer les zones à protéger ou d'intérêt majeur en terme de biodiversité ; inventorier la faune et la flore locale ; identifier les menaces et pressions exercées sur la biodiversité ; identifier les enjeux sociaux-économiques et culturels majeurs... cette étape préliminaire devra être accompagnée de la mise en place de dialogues sociaux, de la formation de locaux, de séances de sensibilisation à l'environnement.

Forêt Amazonienne : recherche, conservation, et...

C'est au sein de la forêt Amazonienne du Pérou, dans la réserve de Manu, que vous pouvez participer à un programme complet de conservation, de recherche scientifique, et de soutien au développement...

Suivi écologique et surveillance dans la réserve...

Suivi écologique dans une réserve communautaire du Sud-Bénin Lors de cette mission, vous contribuerez au suivi écologique et la à surveillance au...

Etude des oiseaux des mangroves de la lagune côtière au...

Cette mission est pour ceux et celles qui aiment observer les oiseaux ! Vous participez au développement d'un programme d'éco-développement au Bénin axé sur la faune aviaire des zones humides. Vous...

Protection et étude des primates au Bénin

Restauration de l'habitat des primates dans la vallée du Mono, Bénin Cette mission vous immerge dans un programme d'éco-développement au Bénin. Le projet vise à mettre en place un...

Plantation de mangroves et éducation environnementale au...

Lors de cette mission, vous aurez l’opportunité de contribuer à un programme de reboisement des mangroves du lac Ahémé et de Avloh et au Bénin et d’éducation à l’environnement. Ce programme est...

Conservation des tortues marines au Nicaragua

Cette mission se déroule sur une ile de la côte Pacifique du Nicaragua, dans un des plus grands sites de nidification de tortues marines du Pacifique Est. Vous contribuerez aux patrouilles...

Chercher une mission