French English

ecovolunteering impact

UNDERSTANDING THE IMPACT OF THE ECOVOLONTARIAT AND THE MEANS OF COMPENSATION

Evaluating the impact of its eco-volunteering mission on the environment is quite complex and ultimately amounts to weighing the balance between the mission's contribution to biodiversity and the impact generated by the arrival of eco-volunteers.

Positive volunteering for local biodiversity

Eco-volunteering brings a lot to local biodiversity.

Firstly, financial aid, in the form of a donation, will allow the biodiversity protection program to continue its project, by training and employing staff, by purchasing study or care equipment from animals, by carrying out environmental education programs locally, or by hiring forest guards to fight against poaching and deforestation… In addition, the help of the volunteer in the field supports by bringing additional arms and goodwill, and sometimes even very valuable skills!

It is more or less difficult to quantify the benefit of volunteering on biodiversity. Most projects depend largely on the financial resources of the eco-volunteering to survive, and one can without much false modesty attribute a large part of the results they display to the eco-volunteers.
For example, in 2019, the support of eco-volunteers will have enabled Cybelle Planète partner projects to:

  • benefit from more than € 155 in donations!
  • benefit from more than 4300 volunteer days;
  • enrich the knowledge bases on terrestrial and / or marine wildlife with thousands of documented observations;
  • save the thousands of injured or orphaned wild animals and release them into the wild when possible;
  • to carry out long-term monitoring of populations of endangered species and to alert the authorities when necessary;
  • ensure regular monitoring of sensitive natural sites;
  • protect hundreds of sea turtle spawns;
  • carry out large-scale mangrove reforestation projects;
  • to participate in the publication of decisive scientific studies on endangered species;
  • to carry out environmental education programs, fight against plastic waste, etc ...

This long list allows us to say that eco-volunteering is a real benefit for local biodiversity.

See reports of volunteer action

Impact of volunteering on the environment

The benefit of eco-volunteering on local biodiversity is real, but does it offset the impacts generated by the presence of eco-volunteers on site?

Overconsume the territory

Eco-volunteering is a mode of travel which, by its essence, avoids the main hazards of mass tourism with, overall, basic reception infrastructures, little or no “luxurious” comfort (example: no air conditioning) , no intermediary with an economic contribution directly profitable to the population or to the local project, ecological equipment (dry toilets, solar panels),…

However, by the simple fact of the presence of volunteers on site, the eco-volunteering remains responsible for a consumption of the territory disproportionate to that of the local inhabitants (daily use of motorized means of transport, consumption of water and food modest but still high by local standards ...). Overconsumption all the higher since most eco-volunteers, once their mission is over, extend their stay to do tourism and discover the country in which they have moved.

CO2 emissions

Most of the eco-volunteering missions that we offer require a trip by long-haul plane, responsible for CO2 emissions. We are thus balanced between a responsible mode of travel that is useful for biodiversity, and the use of a mode of transport which is an important source of Greenhouse Gas (GHG). Tourism today represents two-thirds of international flights! How can we ignore this?

Drift of eco-volunteering

Eco-volunteering is still a very marginal voluntary activity, which does not benefit from any official rule. Most of the eco-volunteering missions offered on the internet are real environmental programs, but you should know that there are a certain number of offers for "false good deeds", which for example offer feed "orphan" baby lion cubs which in fact come from inhuman breeding for hunting, which lead pseudo scientific monitoring which ultimately will not be used for any study ... These abuses will harm the environment all the more since they generally exploit endangered species d extinction, protected reserves, without providing any positive gesture for the environment in return.

Tipping the balance positively

For those who wish to contribute to the preservation of our Cybelle Planet by adopting virtuous lifestyles, the question is inevitable: Does the benefit of my eco-volunteering mission counterbalance the impact generated by my presence on site and by the GHG emissions generated by my trips? ?

Obviously, there is no key answer, but we can nevertheless try to compensate as much as possible our negative impact on the environment by financing projects supposed to reduce GHG emissions by an equivalent amount (carbon compensation), or by supporting local environmental protection programs (territorial compensation). On the other hand, it seems more than desirable to adopt greater sobriety in our ways of traveling.

Limit travel

In 60 years, our mobility has increased from 1500 to 4500 km per year. Between 2003 and 2016, the number of trips for personal reasons of French people abroad (abroad and overseas departments) increased by 43% to reach 24,5 million in 2016, figures which continue to increase! These trips mobilize natural resources in the host countries and contribute to increasing greenhouse gas emissions. When will we see sobriety in our travels?

The trip has become “in”, the absolutely must-do. Have you ever seen someone count with pride the number of countries they have traveled to, like a real globetrotter, even if the stays are less than a week…? Little by little we forgot to take the time to dream and savor our trip, to plan it and imagine it before departure, to take the time to discover and appreciate during the trip, and to integrate the benefits and the new knowledge acquired after the return!

Failing to stop traveling, let's travel less, longer ... and take the time to appreciate each step before, during, and after.

carbon offsetting

Carbon offsetting is a proposed solution to greenhouse gas emissions which has its limits and which is still very complicated to understand in terms of calculation methods and the real benefits derived from projects and the planet. In addition, to date, less than 0,1% of travelers offset their carbon emissions, since this remains a voluntary action.

We did a carbon offset study. We believe that it can be an acceptable means of partial compensation provided that you choose the compensation organization and the projects that will benefit from it.

Territorial compensation ©

The notion of territorial compensation was created in 2010 by 3 committed tour operators, including Jean-Pierre Lamic, Founding President of Eco-responsible travelers and tour operators (VVE). This compensation method, close to solidarity tourism, is related to the territories and their real needs: among these needs we should mention the preservation of local biodiversity. The idea is to compensate directly in the areas impacted by the traveler by providing substantial support for local environmental conservation or local sustainable eco-development programs. Note that unlike the potential negative effects of carbon offsetting, territorial offsetting represents a gift and not a right to pollute.

Due to its main vocation, eco-volunteering is a territorial compensation solution.

sustainable measures 2

To read to go further on sustainable travel: http://www.vve-ecotourisme.com/librairie/tourisme-durable-lutopie-a-realite

French English

impact ecovolontariat

COMPRENDRE L'IMPACT DE L'ECOVOLONTARIAT ET LES MOYENS DE COMPENSATION

Évaluer l’impact de sa mission d’écovolontariat sur l’environnement est assez complexe et revient finalement à faire peser la balance entre l’apport de la mission pour la biodiversité et l’impact généré par la venue des écovolontaires.

Un volontariat positif pour la biodiversité locale

L’écovolontariat apporte beaucoup à la biodiversité locale.

En premier lieu, l’aide financière, sous la forme d’un don, va permettre au programme de protection de la biodiversité de faire perdurer son projet, en formant et salariant du personnel, en achetant du matériel d’étude ou de soin aux animaux, en menant localement des programmes d’éducation à l’environnement, ou en embauchant des gardes forestiers pour lutter contre le braconnage et la déforestation … De plus, l’aide du volontaire sur le terrain vient en appui en apportant des bras supplémentaires et de la bonne volonté, et même parfois des compétences très appréciables !

Il est plus ou moins difficile de quantifier le bénéfice du volontariat sur la biodiversité. La plupart des projets dépendent en grande partie des ressources financières de l’écovolontariat pour survivre, et l’on peut sans trop de fausse modestie attribuer une grosse partie des résultats qu’ils affichent aux écovolontaires.
Par exemple, en 2019, le soutien des écovolontaires aura permis aux projets partenaires de Cybelle Planète de :

  • bénéficier de plus de 155 000 € de dons !
  • bénéficier de plus de 4300 jours de bénévolat ;
  • d’enrichir les bases de connaissances sur la faune sauvage terrestre et/ou marine de milliers d’observations protocolées ;
  • de sauver les milliers d’animaux sauvages blessés ou orphelins et de les relâcher dans la nature lorsque cela s’avère possible ;
  • de mener des suivis sur le long terme de populations d’espèces menacées d’extinction et d’alerter les autorités lorsque cela s’avère nécessaire ;
  • d’assurer la surveillance régulière de sites naturels sensibles ;
  • de protéger des centaines de pontes de tortues marines ;
  • de mener de larges projets de reboisement des mangroves ;
  • de participer à la publication d’études scientifiques déterminantes sur des espèces menacées d’extinction ;
  • de mener des programmes d’éducation à l’environnement, lutte contre les déchets plastiques, etc...

Cette longue liste nous permet de dire que l’écovolontariat est un réel bénéfice pour la biodiversité locale.

Voir les comptes-rendus de l'action des volontaires

Impact du volontariat sur l’environnement

Le bénéfice de l’écovolontariat sur la biodiversité locale est réel, mais ce dernier contrebalance-t-il les impacts générés par la présence des écovolontaires sur place ?

Surconsommer le territoire

L’écovolontariat est un mode de voyage qui permet, par son essence, d’éviter les principaux aléas du tourisme de masse avec globalement, des infrastructures d’accueil basiques, peu ou pas de confort “luxueux” (exemple : pas de climatisation), pas d’intermédiaire avec un apport économique directement profitable à la population ou au projet local, des équipements écologiques (toilettes sèches, panneaux solaires),…

Cependant, de par le simple fait de la présence de volontaires sur place, l’écovolontariat reste responsable d’une consommation du territoire disproportionnée par rapport à celle des habitants locaux (utilisation journalière de moyens de transport motorisés, consommation d’eau et de nourriture modeste mais toujours élevée par rapport aux standards locaux...). Surconsommation d’autant plus élevée que la plupart des écovolontaires, une fois leur mission terminée, prolongent leur séjour pour faire du tourisme et découvrir le pays dans le lequel ils se sont déplacés.

Émissions de CO2

La plupart des missions d’écovolontariat que nous proposons nécessite un déplacement en avion long-courrier, responsable d'émissions de CO2. Nous nous trouvons ainsi balancés entre un mode de voyage responsable et utile à la biodiversité, et l’usage d’un mode de transport qui est une source importante de Gaz à Effets de Serre (GES). Le tourisme représente aujourd’hui les deux-tiers des vols internationaux ! Comment pouvons nous ignorer cela ?

Dérives de l'écovolontariat

L'écovolontariat est une activité bénévole encore très marginale, qui ne bénéficie d'aucune règle officielle. La majeure partie des missions d'écovolontariat proposés sur internet sont de véritables programmes environnementaux, mais il faut savoir qu'il existe un certain nombre d'offres pour de "fausses bonnes actions", qui proposent par exemple de nourrir des bébés lionceaux "orphelins" qui en fait sont issus d'élevages inhumains pour la chasse, qui mènent des pseudo suivi scientifiques qui finalement ne servirons à aucune étude... Ces abus vont nuire d'autant plus à l'environnement qu'ils exploitent généralement des espèces menacées d'extinction, des réserves protégées, sans fournir aucun geste positif pour l'environnement en retour.

Faire pencher la balance positivement

Pour ceux et celles qui souhaitent contribuer à la préservation de notre Cybelle Planète en adoptant des mode de vie vertueux, la question est inévitable : Le bénéfice apporté par ma mission d’écovolontariat contrebalance-t-il l’impact généré par ma présence sur place et par l’émission de GES généré par mes déplacement ?

Evidemment, il n’y a pas de réponse clef, mais nous pouvons néanmoins essayer de compenser au mieux notre impact négatif sur l’environnement, en finançant des projets supposés diminuer d’une quantité équivalente les émissions de GES (compensation carbone), ou en soutenant des programmes locaux de protection de l’environnement (compensation territoriale). D’autre part, il paraît plus que souhaitable d’adopter une plus grande sobriété dans nos manières de voyager.

Limiter les déplacements

En 60 ans, notre mobilité est passée de 1500 à 4500 km par an. Entre 2003 et 2016, le nombre de voyages pour motif personnel des Français à l’international (étranger et départements d’outre-mer) a augmenté de 43 % pour atteindre 24,5 millions en 2016, chiffres qui continuent d’augmenter ! Ces déplacements mobilisent des ressources naturelles dans les pays d’accueil et contribuent à accroître les émissions de gaz à effet de serre. A quand la sobriété dans nos déplacement ?

Le voyage est devenu “in”, la chose à faire absolument, n’avez-vous jamais vu quelqu’un compter avec fierté le nombre pays où il a voyagé, en véritable globe-trotter, même si les séjours sont de moins d’une semaine… ? Petit à petit nous avons oublié de prendre le temps de rêver et savourer notre voyage : de le programmer et de l’imaginer avant le départ, de prendre le temps de découvrir et d’apprécier durant le voyage, et d’intégrer les bienfaits et les nouveaux savoirs acquis après le retour !

A défaut d’arrêter de voyager, voyageons moins, plus longtemps… et prenons le temps d’en apprécier chaque étape avant, pendant, et après.

Compensation carbone

La compensation carbone est une solution proposée aux émissions de gaz à effet de serre qui possède ses limites et qui reste encore très compliquée à comprendre quant aux modes de calculs et aux réels bénéfices qu’en tirent projets et la planète. De plus, à ce jour moins de 0,1% des voyageurs compensent leurs émissions carbones, puisque cela reste une action volontaire.

Nous avons effectué une étude de la compensation carbone. Nous pensons qu'elle peut être un moyen de compensation partielle acceptable à condition de bien choisir l'organisme de compensation et les projets qui en bénéficieront.

Compensation territoriale ©

La notion de compensation territoriale a été créée en 2010 par 3 voyagistes engagés, dont Jean-Pierre Lamic, Président fondateur de Voyageurs et Voyagistes Eco-responsables (VVE). Ce mode de compensation, proche du tourisme solidaire, est en rapport avec les territoires et leurs réels besoins : parmi ces besoins citons la préservation de la biodiversité locale. L’idée étant de compenser directement sur les territoires impactés par le voyageur par un soutien substantiel à des programmes locaux de préservation de l’environnement ou d’éco-développement durable local. Notons que contrairement aux potentiels effets négatifs de la compensation carbone, la compensation territoriale représente un don et non un droit de polluer.

De par sa vocation principale, l’écovolontariat est une solution de compensation territoriale.

 

mesures durables 2

 

A lire pour aller plus loin sur le voyage durable : http://www.vve-ecotourisme.com/librairie/tourisme-durable-lutopie-a-realite