Testimonials ecovolunteers

You attended one of our missions?
Leave your testimonial

MARION participated in the Ecological monitoring and surveillance mission in the Bouche du Roy community reserve in Benin

Mission of 29 days, performed in January 2020

My participation

The mission consists in ecological monitoring of the community reserve. the missions are very varied and exciting. I took care of the 3 hatcheries, fed the baby turtles, released them into the sea. Lots of bird inventories on different sites, monitoring crabs, continental fisheries, monitoring the pressures within the mangrove, raising awareness among residents and primary school children, I also participated in meetings within the community.
The hours are rather light, generally from 8 or 9 a.m. to 12 or 13 p.m. and then in the afternoon from 15 p.m. to 18 or 19 p.m. Depending on the mission of the day, the schedules are very variable with evening missions for night patrols of turtles or very early in the morning for certain inventories of seabirds. I had a few half days without a mission and the Weekends are free.

My expectations

It is the first time that I participated in this kind of mission so I did not really know what to expect but I have an incredible memory of it. The team is great, they have a lot to teach us. Life in the village is timeless and the site absolutely magnificent. As for the project, it is an NGO full of envy and future. They actually work for an ecological concern but also enormously in collaboration with the local populations to enrich and help them.

My advice

I can give you the advice not to hesitate before booking this mission. They need us. Benin is a reassuring country, I traveled alone in several cities without any fear. You have to know how to be independent and not seek luxury. On the other hand, contrary to what he said in the description, the accommodation at the lodge is supplied with electricity thanks to a solar panel and there is drinking water. A personal bathroom in the bedroom and classic toilets outside. The lodge is very clean and well maintained. They are really keen to receive us well and that we are comfortable both in space and in each mission.

What I retain

This mission brought me a lot, both intellectually and emotionally. I learned about the local flora and fauna, about its importance in the reserve. On the importance of associating the populations with each mission. On community life, because honestly this word does not mean anything with us. And on the simplicity of life and the importance of our impact. In addition to your missions, you will have the chance to see impressive sunsets and breathtaking landscapes.

My assets

Everything I have learned will be useful in France and in my daily life. As much as regards our ecological impact, which I want to reduce more than ever, and on my relationship with people. It made me realize that we are moving away from the essential every day

The ecological monitoring mission, South Benin

Ecological monitoring in a community reserve in South Benin During this mission, you will contribute to ecological monitoring and surveillance at ...
See Mission

Maurice participated in the ecological monitoring and surveillance mission in the Bouche du Roy community reserve in Benin

Mission 15 days, conducted in November 2018
This e-mail address is protected against spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

My participation

Ecological monitoring - recording information on threatened flora and fauna - remains very varied: monitoring the mangrove / red mangrove, birds / 5 varieties, search for animal traces and pose of camera, night patrol for the recovery of the eggs of turtles, followed by sea and continental fishing, sensitization of villagers to restrict wood consumption.
Generally I participated in 2 different activities per day 1 from 8 to 13h then 16 to 18 or 22 at midnight. But it is the land that commands, some survey points are 1h30 canoe or the village head is absent and we can not always circulate freely for our mission.
The contribution is not really obvious, the monitoring is still in its infancy and our questioning brings a methodological reflection to a young Beninese team that relies a lot on trainees. But this should evolve by delegating a little more to eco-volunteers in the future.

My expectations

An immersion in a fishing village in an Eco-Lodge allowing to be very close to the population for 15 days and by multiplying the improbable encounters facilitated by the welcome and the smile of the Beninese. Every day had its share of surprises, of discoveries. As a bonus, an exceptional site in the middle of coconut palms in Avlo.

My advice

In terms of equipment, summer dress during the day, light long-sleeved shirts and trousers in the evening. Think about rain gear especially to protect your backpack and camera. Do not be afraid of the canoe and the movement behind the motorcycle. Possibility of swimming in the hotel swimming pool or in the river. Do not hesitate to go to the very rich Eco-Benin site. A detailed program - even if changes are inevitable - will be communicated a few days before departure. The smart guy from Benin

What I retain

15j. awareness of our environment and a lot of exchange with trainees of different nationality

My assets

Reinforcing anti wasting behavior

The ecological monitoring mission, South Benin

Ecological monitoring in a community reserve in South Benin During this mission, you will contribute to ecological monitoring and surveillance at ...
See Mission

French English

Témoignages d'ecovolontaires

Vous avez participé à l'une de nos missions ?
Laissez-nous votre témoignage

MARION a participé(e) à la mission Suivi écologique et surveillance dans la réserve communautaire Bouche du Roy au Bénin

Mission de 29 jours, effectuée en janvier 2020

Ma participation

La mission consiste au suivi écologique de la réserve communautaire. les missions sont très variés et passionnantes. Je me suis occupé du suivi des 3 écloseries, ai nourrit les bébés tortues, les ai relâchés en mer. Beaucoup d'inventaires d'oiseaux sur différents sites, le suivi des crabes, des pêcheries continentales, le suivi des pression au sein de la mangrove, sensibilisation auprès des habitants et des écoliers en primaire, j'ai également participé à des réunions au sein de la communauté.
Les horaires sont plutôt léger, en général de 8 ou 9H à 12 ou 13h puis l'après midi de 15h à 18 ou 19h. Suivant la mission du jour, les horaires sont très variables avec des missions en soirée pour les patrouilles nocturne des tortues ou très tôt le matin pour certains inventaires d'oiseaux marins. J'ai eu quelques demi journées sans mission et les Week end sont libres.

Mes attentes

C'est la première fois que je participai à ce genre de mission donc je ne savais pas réellement à quoi m'attendre mais j'en garde un souvenir incroyable. L'équipe est géniale, ils ont beaucoup à nous apprendre. La vie dans le village est hors du temps et le site absolument magnifique. Quand au projet, c'est une ONG pleine d'envie et d'avenir. Ils travaillent effectivement pour un souci écologique mais aussi énormément en collaboration avec les populations locales pour les enrichir et les aider.

Mes conseils

Je peux vous donner comme conseil de ne pas hésiter avant de réserver cette mission. Ils ont besoin de nous. Le Benin est un pays rassurant, j'ai voyagé seule dans plusieurs villes sans aucune crainte. Il faut savoir être autonome et ne pas rechercher le luxe. En revanche, contrairement à ce qu'il ai dit dans le descriptif, le logement au lodge est alimenté en électricité grâce à un panneau solaire et il y a l'eau potable. Une SDB perso dans la chambre et des toilettes classiques à l'extérieur. Le lodge est très propre et bien entretenu. Ils ont réellement à cœur de bien nous recevoir et que nous soyons à l'aise autant dans l'espace que dans chaque mission.

Ce que j'en retiens

Cette mission m'a beaucoup apporté, tant sur le plan intellectuel qu'émotionnel. J'ai appris sur la faune et la flore locale, sur son importance dans la réserve. Sur l'importance d'allier les populations à chaque mission. Sur la vie en communauté, car honnêtement ce mot ne veux rien dire chez nous. Et sur la simplicité de la vie et l'importance de notre impact. En plus de vos missions vous aurez la chance de voir des couchés soleil impressionnants et des paysages à couper le souffle.

Mes acquis

Tout ce que j'ai appris me servira en France et dans mon quotidien. Autant en ce qui concerne notre impact écologique, que j'ai plus envie que jamais de réduire et sur mes rapports à l'humain. Cela m'a permis de me rendre compte que nous nous éloignons chaque jour de l'essentiel

La mission Suivi écologique, Sud Bénin

Suivi écologique dans une réserve communautaire du Sud-Bénin Lors de cette mission, vous contribuerez au suivi écologique et la à surveillance au...
Voir la mission

Maurice a participé(e) à la mission Suivi écologique et surveillance dans la réserve communautaire Bouche du Roy au Bénin

Mission de 15 jours, effectuée en novembre 2018
Cette adresse e-mail est protégée contre les robots spammeurs. Vous devez activer le JavaScript pour la visualiser.

Ma participation

Le suivi écologique - relevé des informations sur la flore et la faune menacée - reste très varié: suivi de la mangrove / palétuvier rouge, des oiseaux / 5 variétés, recherche de traces animales et pose de caméra, patrouille nocturne pour la récupération des oeufs de tortues, suivi de la pêche maritime et continentale, sensibilisation des villageois pour restreindre la consommation de bois.
Généralement je participais à 2 activités différentes par jour 1 de 8 à 13h puis 16 à 18 ou 22 à minuit. Mais c'est le terrain qui commande, certains points de relevé sont à 1h30 de pirogue ou le Chef de village est absent et nous ne pouvons pas toujours circuler librement pour notre mission.
L'apport n'est pas réellement flagrant, le suivi est encore à ses débuts et notre questionnement apporte une réflexion méthodologique à une équipe Béninoise jeune qui s'appuie beaucoup sur des stagiaires. Mais cela devrait évoluer en délégant un peu plus aux eco-volontaires dans le futur.

Mes attentes

Une immersion dans un village de pêcheurs en Eco-Lodge permettant d'être très proche de la population pendant 15j et en multipliant les rencontres improbables facilitées par l'accueil et le sourire des Béninois. Tous les jours avaient son lot de surprises , de découvertes. En prime, un site exceptionnel au milieu des cocotiers à Avlo.

Mes conseils

Au niveau équipement, la journée tenue d'été, des chemises légères à manche longues et pantalon le soir. Penser aux affaires de pluie surtout pour protèger sac à dos et appareil photo. Ne pas craindre la pirogue et le déplacements à l'arrière de la moto Possibilité de se baigner en piscine d'hôtel ou dans le fleuve. Ne pas hésiter d'aller sur le site d'Eco-Benin très riche. Un programme détaillé - même si les modifications sont inévitable - sera communiqué quelques jours avant le départ. Le petit futé du Bénin

Ce que j'en retiens

15j. de sensibilisation sur notre environnement et beaucoup d'échange avec les stagiaires de nationalité différente

Mes acquis

Le renforcement d'un comportement anti gaspi

La mission Suivi écologique, Sud Bénin

Suivi écologique dans une réserve communautaire du Sud-Bénin Lors de cette mission, vous contribuerez au suivi écologique et la à surveillance au...
Voir la mission