French English

Press release, March 2008

Cruises to the study of cetaceans and the preservation of biodiversity in the Mediterranean Sea

For 4ème year, Cybelle Planète organizes sailing cruises to study marine life off the coast of the Mediterranean. Every week, a group of 6 8 to ecovolunteers, accompanied by a scientific guide and skipper, will go watch whales and dolphins, jellyfish, turtles, ...

in the Sanctuary of Marine Mammals: Pelagos. The entire team at sea will collect scientific data during the 7 days sailing. We program 13 weeks, from mid-June to mid-September.

Who can join the project?

The yards of eco-volunteering are open to all adults, no special qualifications are required. Participants will be trained and supervised by a scientific guide. The data collected during these cruises have been specifically thought to be both applicable by non-scientific people and exploited scientifically.

Progress of projects

Each shipyard lasts one week and takes place aboard a sailboat 15 meters. Most of the time the crew stays at sea, with nights off. The boat will also stop, depending on the needs and the weather, at the port or in the creeks of the Port Cros National Park and the Lérins Islands. Ecovolunteers participate fully in life on board (shopping, meal preparation, housework, night shifts ...). The atmosphere is quickly very friendly, the experience will be enriching both human and scientific.

Study site

The Pelagos Sanctuary is an area protected by an agreement signed in 1999 between France, Italy and Monaco for the protection of marine mammals and their habitat. It stretches from the Giens peninsula in southern Tuscany and northern Sardinia. This huge area is very rich in plankton and biodiversity is abundant.

Research programs

Since 2005, Cybelle Planète involved in a long-term research program, conducted by scientists at the institute écoOcéan. This is to assess the impact of marine traffic on whales and dolphins of the sanctuary. (Ecoocean.free.fr)
For the first year, the team will participate in Cybelle-Mediterranean program led by Cybelle Planète and a team of scientists 20aine. This project is to assess the long-term evolution of Marine Biodiversity Mediterranean, especially in connection with climate change. Thus, in addition to cetaceans, we collect off the information on marine turtles, fish, jellyfish, floating debris and ... (good indicator of environmental pollution). (Www.cybelle-mediterranee.org)

What species?

Several species of cetaceans are present in the sanctuary during the summer period, the most impressive being the fin whale, the second largest animal on earth with about twenty meters long on average. It is also observed sperm whales, pilot whales and several species of dolphins.
Four species of sea turtles are observable in the Mediterranean Sea, but sometimes very difficult to differentiate! There will also be Pelagia jellyfish, which have been invading our beaches for a few years, and singularly shaped moons.
We will also track the amount of floating debris on the surface, these data will be a good indicator of pollution and its annual and seasonal variations.

Usefulness of ecovolunteers

The eco-volunteers involved in collecting data, several people are constantly making observations from the ship's deck from sunrise to sunset and throughout the summer! The amount of collected data is an invaluable resource for researchers who could bring such a "labor" over such a long period. In addition, ecovolunteers finance themselves their stays and thus materially contributing to the project by allowing, among other things, renting a sailboat and the remuneration of a professional skipper ....

Stories of ecovolunteers

"Change of scenery ... Dare to enter the reality beyond the dream. ... And then it was too short week, tolerance and goodwill. ... Dolphins playing in front of the bow of the boat, the loud blast of the fin, tuna leaping out of the water ... The coves reassuring evening. ...Do not hesitate. Try it ... "Etienne July 2007

"1 week unattainable without contact with real life, off, in total communion with nature ... But this experience can not be told she lives. So do not hesitate, go for it! ... It is also a human experience, what fun to see the little stars in the eyes of others when you cross a gaze admiringly, like yours, then along a cetacean the boat. ... It puts the record straight, return to core values. Place the evidence. "Virginia September 2006

Prices :

7 days: + € 950 20 € for membership in the association

Cybelle Planète

Cybelle Planet is an organization created in 1901 2005.
We offer our members to participate in eco-volunteering projects, organized in partnership with specialists in biodiversity. The association organizes each summer construction sites for the study of whales and dolphins of the Mediterranean in the south of France. We also offer eco-volunteering a little of projects all around the world including through the International Network Ecovolunteer.
We are implementing biodiversity conservation projects in partnership with scientists, or ecovolunteers and researchers can work together. We are currently implementing the Cybelle Mediterranean project, a long-term monitoring of Mediterranean marine biodiversity.

French English

Communiqué de presse, mars 2008

Croisières pour l'étude des Cétacés et la préservation de la Biodiversité en mer méditerranée

Pour la 4ème année, l'association Cybelle Planète organise des croisières en voilier, pour aller étudier la vie marine au large de la méditerranée. Chaque semaine, un groupe de 6 à 8 écovolontaires, accompagné d'un guide scientifique et d'un skipper, partirons observer les baleines et les dauphins, les méduses, les tortues, ...

dans le sanctuaire des Mammifères Marins : Pélagos. Toute l'équipe collectera en mer des données scientifiques, durant les 7 jours de navigation. Nous programmons 13 semaines, de mi-juin à mi-septembre.

Qui peut se joindre au projet ?

Les chantiers d'écovolontariat sont ouverts à toute personne majeure, aucune qualification particulière n'est requise. Les participants seront formés et encadrés par un guide scientifique. Les données collectées durant ces croisières ont été spécifiquement pensées afin d'être à la fois applicables par des personnes non-scientifiques et exploitables scientifiquement.

Déroulement des chantiers

Chaque chantier dure une semaine et se déroule à bord d'un voilier de 15 mètres. La plupart du temps l'équipage reste en mer, avec des nuits au large. Le voilier s'arrêtera également, selon les besoins et la météo, au port ou bien dans les criques du parc national de Port Cros et les Iles de Lérins. Les écovolontaires participent intégralement à la vie à bord (courses, préparation des repas, tâches ménagères, quarts de nuits...). L'ambiance est rapidement très conviviale, l'expérience sera enrichissante tant au niveau humain que scientifique.

Site d'étude

Le sanctuaire Pélagos est une zone protégée par un accord signé en 1999 entre la France, l'Italie et Monaco pour la protection des mammifères marins et de leur habitat. Il s'étend de la presqu'île de Giens au sud de la Toscane et au nord de la Sardaigne. Cet immense domaine est très riche en plancton et la biodiversité y est abondante.

Les programmes de recherche

Depuis 2005, Cybelle Planète participe à un programme de recherche à long terme, mené par les scientifiques de l'institut écoOcéan. Ce dernier consiste à évaluer l'impact du trafic maritime sur les baleines et les dauphins du sanctuaire. (ecoocean.free.fr)
Pour la première année, l'équipe participera au programme Cybelle-Méditerranée, mené par Cybelle Planète et une équipe d'une 20aine de scientifiques. Ce projet consiste à évaluer à long terme l'évolution de la Biodiversité Marine Méditerranéenne, et notamment en lien avec les changements climatiques. Ainsi, en plus des cétacés, on collectera au large des informations sur les tortues marines, poissons, méduses, et... débris flottants (bon indicateur de la pollution ambiante). (www.cybelle-mediterranee.org)

Quelles espèces ?

Plusieurs espèces de cétacés sont présentes dans le sanctuaire pendant la période estivale, le plus impressionnant étant le rorqual commun, deuxième plus grand animal sur terre avec une vingtaine de mètres de long en moyenne. On observe également des cachalots, des globicéphales et diverses espèces de dauphins.
Quatre espèces de tortues marines sont observables en mer méditerranée, mais parfois très difficiles à différencier ! On comptera également les méduses Pélagia, qui envahissent nos plages depuis quelques années, et les poissons lunes à la forme singulière.
Nous suivront également les quantités de débris flottants à la surface, ces données seront un bon indicateur de la pollution et de ses variations annuelles et saisonnières.

Utilité des écovolontaires

Les écovolontaires participent à la collecte des données, plusieurs personnes vont en permanence faire des observations à partir du pont du bateau du lever au coucher du soleil et durant toute la saison estivale ! La quantité de données collectées est une source inestimable pour les chercheurs qui ne pourraient réunir une telle « main d'œuvre » sur une si longue durée. De plus, les écovolontaires financent eux même leurs séjours et contribuent ainsi matériellement au projet en permettant, entre autre, la location d'un voilier et la rémunération d'un skipper professionnel ....

Quelques témoignages d'écovolontaires

« Dépaysement garanti ... Oser entrer dans la réalité qui dépasse le rêve. ... Et là ce fut une semaine trop courte, de tolérance et de bonne volonté. ... les dauphins jouant devant l'étrave du bateau, le souffle bruyant du rorqual commun, thons bondissants hors de l'eau,...Les criques rassurantes le soir. ...N'hésitez pas. Tentez l'expérience... » Etienne juillet 2007

« 1 semaine hors d'atteinte, sans contact avec la vie réelle, au large, en communion totale avec la nature...Mais cette expérience ne se raconte pas, elle se vit. Alors, n'hésitez pas, foncez!... c'est aussi une expérience humaine, quel plaisir de voir les petites étoiles dans les yeux des autres lorsque vous croisez un regard, admiratif, comme le vôtre, alors qu'un cétacé longe le bateau. ...On remet les pendules à l'heure, retour aux valeurs essentielles. Place aux évidences. » Virginie Septembre 2006

Tarifs :

7 jours : 950 € + 20 € d'adhésion à l'association

Cybelle Planète

Cybelle Planète est une association loi 1901 créée en 2005.
Nous proposons à nos adhérents de participer à des chantiers d'écovolontariat, organisés en partenariat avec des spécialistes de la biodiversité. L'association organise chaque été les chantiers pour l'étude des baleines et des dauphins de méditerranée dans le sud de la France. Nous proposons également des projets d'écovolontariat un peu partout autour du monde grâce notamment au Réseau International Ecovolunteer.
Nous mettons en place des projets de préservation de la biodiversité, en partenariat avec des scientifiques, ou écovolontaires et chercheurs pourront travailler ensemble. Nous sommes actuellement en train de mettre en place le projet Cybelle Méditerranée, un suivi à long terme de la biodiversité marine méditerranéenne.