French English

Eco-solidarity trip in the Mediterranean, April 2009

Study of cetaceans and biodiversity in the Mediterranean Sea

These eco-volunteering stays are designed to assess the impact of marine traffic on cetaceans, and to follow the evolution of Mediterranean marine biodiversity. No special skills are required to participate.

Presentation

The minimum participation is seven days on a sailboat. The eco-volunteers are accompanied by a scientific guide. Together they participate in different phases of a sea research program, from data acquisition (behavioral observations, counts) To their computer input.

The study area is located off Var and Côte d'Azur and extends Corsica. This area has a favorite place for cetaceans, 7 species are commonly seen as the bottlenose dolphin, sperm whale, and the whale.

Life on board

The boat sails from sunrise to sunset. One or more nights off are expected. The ecovolunteers fully participate in the life on board, they support scientists in their research, they help with maneuvering the boat or bar shifts. The eco-volunteers observe and record on the bridge throughout the day: counting, behavioral observations, timing, determination of the geographical position, followed by maritime traffic ...

Life on board is friendly and warm, the food preparation is done in common, and they place on the deck in the cockpit, or in the square. Everyone is required to help with household chores such as shopping, cooking, cleaning ...

The research projects

The opportunities to work at sea are rare and we try to optimize our outputs. We are working on two scientific projects:

  • Cybelle Mediterranean: a long-term project and long scale overseen by a scientific committee; it started in 2007.

  • Study of the impact of marine traffic on cetacean populations: a project led by EcoOcéan Institute, with whom we work since 2005.

Scientific assessments search campaigns through the contribution of Cybelle Planète ecovolunteers are published annually.

eco-volunteering

With financial support and as actors on the ground, ecovolunteers guarantee the continuation of research programs and conservation of wildlife. Part of this work, if not all, owes its realization to the financial and physical contribution ecovolunteers!

The eco-volunteers are actively involved in projects and undertake to work and live alongside scientists. They may sometimes be required to work long hours and do things never done before. This personal and intellectual challenge is a rewarding and challenging opportunity. At the end of their stay, ecovolunteers have a head full of new ideas, enriched with a unique experience and real encounters.

The association

Cybelle Planète is an association whose primary mission is to participate in the preservation of biodiversity. We want to give the opportunity to as many people as possible to take action for the environment. Interface between biodiversity specialists and the general public, we develop eco-citizen projects for the preservation of nature.

  • Eco-volunteering: We offer our members to participate in volunteer projects. These projects are organized in partnership with specialists in biodiversity (animal, plant, cultural, ...).

  • Preserving the Mediterranean: Mediterranean Cybelle. This initiative allows voluntary lovers (scuba divers or boaters) to help us collect information at sea, following simple but accurate methods. Thanks to the participation of the largest number we can, for the first time in the Mediterranean, followed large-scale and long-term changes in biodiversity.

2009 dates

• the 18 24 in July
• the 25 31 in July
• the 08 14 in August
• the 15 21 in August
• the 22 28 in August

2009 Rates

Cybelle Planète is a French association 1901 law, eco-volunteering stays are for day to members of their members annual fee of € 50. This last is not included in the price.

7 days: 950 € to 1000 € (depending on the week)

More information available on the site www.cybelle-planete.org

French English

Voyage éco-solidaire en méditerranée, avril 2009

Étude des cétacés et de la biodiversité en mer Méditerranée

Ces séjours d’écovolontariat visent à évaluer l’impact du trafic maritime sur les cétacés, et à suivre l'évolution de la biodiversité marine méditerranéenne. Aucune compétence particulière n’est nécessaire pour y participer.

Présentation

La participation minimale est de sept jours, sur un voilier. Les écovolontaires sont accompagnés par un guide scientifique. Ensemble, ils participent aux différentes phases d'un programme de recherche en mer, depuis l'acquisition des données (observations comportementales, comptages), jusqu’à leur saisie informatique.

La zone d’étude se situe au large du Var et de la Côte d’Azur et s’étend jusque la Corse. Cette zone présente un lieu de prédilection pour les cétacés, 7 espèces sont communément observées, comme le grand dauphin, le cachalot, et le rorqual.

La vie à bord

Le voilier navigue du lever au coucher du soleil. Une ou plusieurs nuits au large sont à prévoir. Les écovolontaires participent intégralement à la vie à bord, ils assistent les scientifiques dans leurs travaux de recherche, ils aident aux manœuvres du bateau ou aux quarts de barre. Les écovolontaires observent et notent sur le pont tout au long de la journée : comptage, observations comportementale, chronométrage, détermination du positionnement géographique, suivis du trafic maritime…

La vie à bord est conviviale et chaleureuse, la préparation des repas se fait en commun, et ils ont lieu sur le pont dans le cockpit, ou dans le carré. Tout le monde est tenu de participer aux tâches ménagères, comme les courses, la cuisine, le nettoyage…

Les projets de recherche

Les opportunités de travailler en pleine mer sont rares et nous essayons d'optimiser nos sorties. Nous travaillons sur deux projets scientifiques :

  • Cybelle Méditerranée : un projet à long terme et à longue échelle chapeauté par une commission scientifique ; ce dernier a démarré en 2007.

  • Etude de l'impact du trafic maritime sur les populations de cétacés : un projet porté par EcoOcéan Institut, avec lequel nous travaillons depuis 2005.

Les bilans scientifiques des campagnes de recherche menées grâce à la contribution des écovolontaires de Cybelle Planète sont publiés annuellement.

Ecovolontariat

Grâce à leur soutien financier et en tant qu'acteurs sur le terrain, les écovolontaires garantissent la poursuite des programmes de recherche ou de conservation de la faune sauvage. Une partie de ce travail, voire la totalité, doit sa réalisation à la contribution financière et physique des écovolontaires !

Les écovolontaires participent activement aux chantiers, et s'engagent à travailler et à vivre au côté des scientifiques. Ils peuvent parfois être amenés à travailler de longues heures et à accomplir des choses jamais faites auparavant. Ce défi personnel et intellectuel est une opportunité valorisante et motivante. A l'issue de leur séjour, les écovolontaires auront la tête pleine d'idées nouvelles, enrichis par une expérience unique et des rencontres vraies.

L’association

Cybelle Planète est une association dont la mission première est de participer à la préservation de la biodiversité. Nous souhaitons donner l'opportunité au plus grand nombre de personnes possibles d'agir pour l'environnement. Interface entre les spécialistes de la biodiversité et le grand public, nous développons des projets éco-citoyens pour la préservation de la nature.

  • Ecovolontariat : Nous proposons à nos adhérents de participer à des chantiers de volontariat. Ces chantiers sont organisés en partenariat avec des spécialistes de la biodiversité (animale, végétale, culturelle, ...).

  • Préserver la mer méditerranée : Cybelle Méditerranée. Cette initiative permet à des amateurs volontaires (plongeurs sous-marins ou plaisanciers) de nous aider à collecter des informations en mer, suivant des méthodes simples mais précises. Grâce à la participation du plus grand nombre nous pourrons, pour la première fois en méditerranée, suivre à grande échelle et à long terme l'évolution de la biodiversité.

Dates 2009

• du 18 au 24 juillet
• du 25 au 31 juillet
• du 08 au 14 août
• du 15 au 21 août
• du 22 au 28 août

Tarifs 2009

Cybelle Planète est une association française loi 1901, les séjours d'écovolontariat sont réservés aux membres adhérents à jour de leur cotisation annuelle de 50 €. Cette dernière n’est pas incluse dans le prix.

7 jours : 950 € à 1000 € (selon la semaine)

Plus d’information disponible sur le site www.cybelle-planete.org