French English

Press Release, April 2008

Assessing the health of the Mediterranean Sea

Cybelle Méditerranée is a long-term study project of Mediterranean marine biodiversity. Led by Cybelle Planète association, it consists of a data collection campaign, conducted by ecovolunteers amateurs, by diving or from boats. This project gives everyone the opportunity to take concrete action in the service of marine biodiversity. It spreads over several years and will observe the evolution of biodiversity

in the Mediterranean and better understand the impact of global change, including global warming on the Mediterranean marine ecology.

Why this project?

It is rather difficult to assess the impact of global changes (pollution, climate change ...) on Mediterranean marine biodiversity. The lack of scientific side of means does not allow for follow-on large scale and long term. The actions of the Mediterranean are mainly focused on iconic marine species (whales, groupers ...). And too little attention is given to the need to protect all marine species, without exception, and preserve the Mediterranean environment as a whole.
Many people, passionate about the marine fauna and flora, are willing to give their time and energy to the advancement of knowledge.
Cybelle Planet is located on the border between them and scientists. Our goal is to unite all people of goodwill and different skills.

Questions

• What state of the art can be made of the current marine diversity in the Mediterranean?
• What is evolution?

Objectives

• Measure SIMPLY Mediterranean marine biodiversity, in order to understand its evolution,
• Gather non-scientists and scientists.

Project Principle

First, a committee consisting of twenty scientists, set up simple methodologies for data collection:
• Along the coast by scuba diving or observations from shore
• Off: from offshore boats (yachts ...).

Data collection will be done by non-scientific people. The eco-volunteers may participate in diving clubs and associations partners. Each partner appoints a guide, who undergoes annual training, and who is in charge of the supervision of ecovolunteers and the collection of data. These will be returned to Cybelle Méditerranée. The database will be freely available to the scientific community for analysis and interpretation.

What will be measured?

Data collection will be made primarily by diving, and from sailing. The first protocols have been proposed by the scientific committee, the collected data are for indicator species of the state of biodiversity (eg fish, sea urchins, whales, jellyfish) easily identifiable by an amateur biologist.

What is an indicator species?
Indicator species (or sentinel species) are species whose presence or absence indicates an environment imbalance or malfunction of an ecosystem. They are monitoring tools used because it is impossible to monitor all biodiversity.

Some examples of data collected
• Census of Population of jellyfish Pelagia noctiluca
• Identification of populations of marine turtles and sunfish (Mola mola)
• Subscriptions cetacean populations
• Estimate of stocks
• Estimated populations of sea urchins and seaweed stands
• Marine debris Counting

The establishment of an observatory of biodiversity change

Global changes have resulted, among other things, changes in some species ranges (exotic or native). We wish to continuously observe the geographical distribution of these species and monitor changes over time. Each observation of a "new" species by a ecovolunteer be reported to us, accompanied by a photograph and environmental information.

Agenda

In 2008, the first offshore data collection will take place. The training guides (scuba diving and sailing) take place in April and May 2008 all summer guides will supervise eco-volunteers and will conduct observations. Data will be collected on a dive sites 10aine in Languedoc-Roussillon and PACA, and off in the Pelagos Sanctuary for Marine Mammals.

French English

Communiqué de presse, avril 2008

Evaluer l'état de santé de la mer méditerranée

Cybelle Méditerranée est un projet d'étude à long terme de la biodiversité marine méditerranéenne. Mené par l'association Cybelle Planète, il consiste en une campagne de collecte de données, menée par des amateurs écovolontaires, par plongée sous-marine ou à partir de voiliers. Ce projet donne à chacun l'opportunité d'agir concrètement au service de la biodiversité marine. Il s'étale sur plusieurs années et permettra d'observer l'évolution de la biodiversité

en Mer Méditerranée et de mieux comprendre l'impact des changements globaux, et notamment du réchauffement climatique sur l'écologie marine méditerranéenne.

Pourquoi ce projet ?

Il reste assez difficile d'évaluer l'impact des changements globaux (pollution, changement climatiques...) sur la biodiversité marine méditerranéenne. Le manque de moyens du côté des scientifiques ne permet pas d'effectuer des suivis sur de grandes échelles et à long terme. Les actions en faveur de la Méditerranée sont principalement axées sur des espèces marines emblématiques (baleines, mérous, ...). Et encore trop peu d'attention est donnée au besoin de protéger toutes les espèces marines, sans exception, et de préserver l'environnement méditerranéen dans son ensemble.
De nombreuses personnes, passionnées par la faune et la flore marine, sont prêtes à donner leur temps et leur énergie pour l'avancée des connaissances.
Cybelle Planète se situe à la frontière entre ces derniers et les scientifiques. Notre objectif étant de réunir toutes les bonnes volontés et les différentes compétences.

Questions

• Quel état des lieux peut-on faire de la diversité marine actuelle en Méditerranée ?
• Quelle en est son évolution ?

Objectifs

• Mesurer SIMPLEMENT la biodiversité marine méditerranéenne, afin d'en comprendre son évolution,
• Rassembler non-scientifiques et scientifiques.

Principe du projet

Dans un premier temps, une commission, constituée d'une vingtaine de scientifiques, a mis en place des méthodologies simples pour la collecte de données :
• Le long de la côte : par plongée sous-marine ou par observations du rivage
• Au large : à partir d'embarcations hauturières (voiliers...).

La collecte des données sera assurée par des personnes non-scientifiques. Les écovolontaires pourront participer au sein de clubs de plongée et associations partenaires. Chaque partenaire désigne un guide, qui suit une formation annuelle, et qui se charge de l'encadrement des écovolontaires et de la collecte des données. Ces dernières seront restituées à Cybelle Méditerranée. La base de données sera mise à libre disposition de la communauté scientifique pour analyses et interprétations.

Que va-t-on mesurer ?

La collecte de données s'effectuera principalement par plongée sous-marine, et à partir de voilier. Les premiers protocoles ont été proposés par la commission scientifique, les données collectées concernent des espèces indicatrices de l'état de la biodiversité (ex : poissons, oursins, cétacés, méduses) facilement identifiables par un biologiste amateur.

Qu'est-ce qu'une espèce indicatrice ?
Les espèces indicatrices (ou espèces sentinelles) sont des espèces dont la présence ou bien l'absence avertit d'un déséquilibre du milieu ou d'un dysfonctionnement d'un écosystème. Ce sont des outils de surveillance utilisés parce qu'il est impossible de surveiller l'ensemble de la diversité biologique.

Quelques exemples des données collectées
• Recensement de la population de méduses Pélagia noctiluca
• Recensement des populations de tortues marines et de poissons lunes (Mola mola)
• Suivis des populations de cétacés
• Estimation des peuplements de poissons
• Estimation des populations d'oursins et des peuplements d'algues
• Comptage des débris en mer

La mise en place d'un observatoire des changements de biodiversité

Les changements globaux ont pour conséquence, entre autre, la modification des aires de répartition de certaines espèces (espèces exotiques ou indigènes). Nous souhaitons pouvoir observer en continu la distribution géographique de ces espèces et en suivre l'évolution dans le temps. Chaque observation d'une espèce « nouvelle » effectuée par un écovolontaire nous sera signalée, accompagnée d'une photographie et des informations environnementales.

Agenda

En 2008, les premières collectes de données en mer auront lieu. Les formations de guides (plongée sous-marine et voilier) ont lieu en avril et mai 2008, tout l'été les guides encadreront des écovolontaires et effectuerons des observations. Les données seront collectées sur une 10aine de sites de plongée en Languedoc-Roussillon et en PACA, et au large dans le sanctuaire Pélagos des Mammifères Marins.