French English

Useful holiday to protect whales and dolphins in the Mediterranean Sea

Since 2005 the Cybelle Planète association organizes every summer sailing missions to collect information on cetaceans and biodiversity off the Mediterranean coast. More 350 ecovolunteers have already participated in a mission, supervised by an eco-guide and skipper. The eco-volunteers are holidaymakers, no particular qualification, but whose contribution is crucial to the continuation of research programs.

The missions of eco-volunteering 2012

From July to August, one week sessions follow one another, from the Var or the Pyrenees Orientales. A crew consisting of 7 ecovolunteers, an eco-guide and skipper will sail the open waters in search of whales, sperm whales or dolphins. Anyone can participate, ecovolunteers have over 18 years and a great desire to concretely help preserve the biological wealth of the Mediterranean Sea. Supervised by an eco-guides and skipper, they will conduct behavioral observations and assist in the collection of data (GPS, weather, animals). All the crew lives together on a sailboat 13 meters and also participates as well to research daily tasks. A rich and warm experience.

Information collected

Observations are used by several research programs, boat trips are too expensive to not optimize to the fullest! For example, citizen science program in the Mediterranean Sea, Mediterranean Cybelle, carried by Cybelle Planète. This project brings together several researchers and aims to track the impact of global change (eg climate change) on Mediterranean marine biodiversity. The information will also be shared with other programs, including one worn by EcoOcéan Institute, IMPACT-CET®, which aims to assess the impact of marine traffic on cetaceans.
After several years of joint work, the first results appear, eg on areas with high risk of collisions between whales and sperm whales and ships, or more precise estimates of the geographical distribution of cetacean populations in the Mediterranean Sea.
Field research need to be conducted over the long term to be able to issue reliable forecasting. Also still missing a lot of information, particularly on populations of bottlenose dolphins or geographic areas not well investigated as the Gulf of Lions.

The association

Cybelle Planète is a participatory ecology Association for biodiversity. Our businesses are divided along two axes: 1) The eco-volunteering: A green travel mode and solidarity, and 2) Participatory Science: A network divers and eco-citizen boaters.

Dates and prices

Dates: July and August 2012


Individuals :

7 days: € 950 *

* This participation entitles you to a tax deduction of 66% (for an individual). So this project really cost you only € 323.


Eco-Solidarity leave :

7 days: 1093 €


More information

French English

Vacances utiles pour protéger les baleines et les dauphins en mer méditerranée

Depuis 2005 l’association Cybelle Planète organise chaque été des missions en voilier pour collecter des informations sur les cétacés et la biodiversité du large des côtes méditerranéennes. Plus de 350 écovolontaires ont déjà participé à une mission, encadrés par un éco-guide et un skipper. Les écovolontaires sont de simples vacanciers, sans qualification particulière, mais dont la contribution est cruciale à la poursuite des programmes de recherche.

 

Les missions d’écovolontariat 2012

De juillet à Aout, les sessions d’une semaine se succèdent, au départ du Var ou des Pyrénées Orientales. Un équipage constitué de 7 écovolontaires, un éco-guide et un skipper va sillonner les eaux du large, à la recherche de rorquals, cachalots ou de dauphins. Tout le monde peut y participer, les écovolontaires ont plus de 18 ans et une grande envie d’aider concrètement à préserver les richesses biologiques de la mer méditerranée. Encadrés par un éco-guides et un skipper, ils vont effectuer des observations comportementales et aider à la collecte de données (GPS, météo, animaux). Tout l’équipage vit ensemble sur un voilier de 13 mètres et participe aussi bien aux recherches qu’aux tâches quotidiennes. Une expérience riche et chaleureuse.

Les informations collectées

Les observations effectuées sont utilisées par plusieurs programmes de recherche, les sorties en mer sont bien trop onéreuses pour ne pas les optimiser au maximum ! Par exemple, le programme de sciences participatives en mer méditerranée, Cybelle Méditerranée, porté par l’association Cybelle Planète. Ce projet regroupe plusieurs chercheurs et vise à suivre l’impact des changements globaux (ex réchauffement climatique) sur la biodiversité marine méditerranéenne. Les informations vont également être partagées avec d’autres programmes, notamment celui porté par EcoOcéan Institut, IMPACT-CET®, qui vise à évaluer l’impact du trafic maritime sur les cétacés.
Après quelques années de travail en commun, les premiers résultats paraissent, par exemple concernant les zones à haut risque de collision entre les rorquals ou les cachalots et les navires, ou des estimations plus précises de la répartition géographique des populations de cétacés en mer méditerranée.
Les recherches de terrain demandent à être menées sur le long terme pour pouvoir émettre des prospective fiables. De plus il manque encore beaucoup d’informations, notamment sur les populations de grands dauphins ou sur des zones géographique encore mal investiguées comme le Golfe du Lion.

L’association

Cybelle Planète est une association d’écologie participative pour la biodiversité. Nos activités se déclinent suivant deux axes : 1) L'écovolontariat : Un mode de voyage écologique et solidaire, et 2) Sciences Participatives : Un réseau de plongeurs et plaisanciers éco-citoyens.

Dates et tarifs

Dates : Juillet et Aout 2012


Particuliers :

7 jours : 950 €*

*Cette participation vous donne droit à une déduction fiscale de 66 % (pour un particulier). Ainsi ce projet ne vous coûtera réellement que 323 €.


Congés éco-solidaires :

7 jours :  1093 €


Plus d’information