French English

ecovolunteers search for missions off the Mediterranean

The association Cybelle Planet, participatory ecology association organizes since 2005 of eco-volunteering mission in the Mediterranean in order to collect information on cetaceans and marine biodiversity. These missions are organized on a sailboat and framed by a skipper and an eco-guide.
350 ecovolunteers have already participated in a mission in the Mediterranean eco-volunteering with Cybelle Planet.
These eco-volunteers are travelers looking for a humane and responsible experience, whose contribution is crucial to the pursuit of scientific research programs.

The unique eco-volunteering mission in the Mediterranean

Since 30 June departures are held every Saturday in the Var and the Pyrenees-Orientales. The crews consist of 7 ecovolunteers (without specific qualification), an eco-guide and skipper plying the waters off the Mediterranean in search of whales, sperm whales and dolphins aboard a sailboat 13 meters.
These missions are accessible to all and to all provided they are over the age of 18 years. The ecovolunteer chose this trip for concrete action in the preservation of Mediterranean treasures.
Its mission is to collect behavioral observations and help collect data (GPS, weather, animals, maritime traffic).

The usefulness of the information collected

Observations are used by several research programs.
The participatory science program in the Mediterranean Sea, Mediterranean Cybelle, by the association Cybelle Planet, brings together several researchers and aims to track the impact of global change (eg climate change) on Mediterranean marine biodiversity. The information collected will also be shared with other programs, including one worn by EcoOcéan Institute, IMPACT-CET®, which aims to assess the impact of marine traffic on cetaceans.
After several years of joint work, the first results appear, eg on areas with high risk of collisions between whales and sperm whales and ships, or settled populations of bottlenose dolphins in the Gulf of Lion.
These eco-volunteering missions are renewed every year in order to obtain reliable results in the long term.

Dates and prices

Dates : July and August 2012

Weekly rate : 950 € per person giving a tax deduction of 66% for individuals (final cost: 323 €).

More information

French English

Recherche écovolontaires pour des missions au large de la Méditerranée

L’association Cybelle Planète, association d’écologie participative, organise depuis 2005 des missions d’écovolontariat en Méditerranée afin de collecter des informations sur les cétacés et la biodiversité marine. Ces missions sont organisées sur un voilier et encadrées par un skipper et un éco-guide.
350 écovolontaires ont déjà participé à une mission d’écovolontariat en Méditerranée avec Cybelle Planète.
Ces écovolontaires sont des voyageurs à la recherche d’une expérience humaine et responsable, dont la contribution est cruciale à la poursuite des programmes de recherche scientifique.

Des missions d’écovolontariat uniques en Méditerranée

Depuis le 30 juin, des départs ont lieu chaque samedi dans le Var et les Pyrénées-Orientales. Les équipages, constitués de 7 écovolontaires (sans qualification particulière), d’un éco-guide et d’un skipper, sillonnent les eaux du large de la Méditerranée, à la recherche de rorquals, de cachalots ou de dauphins, à bord d’un voilier de 13 mètres.
Ces missions sont accessibles à tous et à toutes à condition d’être âgé de plus de 18 ans. L’écovolontaire choisit ce voyage pour agir concrètement à la préservation des richesses méditerranéennes.
Sa mission consiste à recueillir des observations comportementales et aider à la collecte de données (GPS, météo, animaux, trafic maritime).

L’utilité des informations collectées

Les observations effectuées sont exploitées par plusieurs programmes de recherche.
Le programme de sciences participatives en mer Méditerranée, Cybelle Méditerranée, porté par l’association Cybelle Planète, regroupe plusieurs chercheurs et vise à suivre l’impact des changements globaux (ex : le réchauffement climatique) sur la biodiversité marine méditerranéenne. Les informations collectées vont également être partagées avec d’autres programmes, notamment celui porté par EcoOcéan Institut, IMPACT-CET®, qui vise à évaluer l’impact du trafic maritime sur les cétacés.
Après quelques années de travail en commun, les premiers résultats paraissent, par exemple concernant les zones à haut risque de collision entre les rorquals ou les cachalots et les navires, ou la sédentarisation des populations de grands dauphins dans le golfe du Lion.
Ces missions d’écovolontariat sont renouvelées chaque année afin d’obtenir des résultats fiables sur du long terme.
 

Dates et tarifs

Dates : Juillet et Août 2012

Tarif à la semaine : 950€ par personne donnant droit à une déduction fiscale de 66% pour les particuliers (coût final : 323€).

 

Plus d’informations