French English

Press Release, April 2013

A citizen science program in the Mediterranean Sea

This program of the association Cybelle Planète, is for anyone sailing on a boat and / or practicing scuba diving.
Divers, boaters, scientists and enthusiasts participate together in monitoring the health of the Mediterranean Sea, in the long term and large scale!

The objective is to monitor marine biodiversity to better understand the impact of changes in the environment (including climate) on the Mediterranean Sea.
Cybelle Mediterranean is based on the contribution of amateurs, divers and boaters to do, without training, observations at sea. Simple methods were developed by the scientific and educational program commission. They are to monitor the distribution and the abundance of selected species (indicator of the state of environment). The information collected is directly returned by the contributors on the program website. In compliance with its code of ethics, the Mediterranean Cybelle program is open to all and data stored on the site are free to access and free to download.

More information on the participatory Cybelle Mediterranean science program

Divers and boaters, participate in the program Cybelle Mediterranean ...

Participation is free, free and very simple:

1. Register online at www.cybelle-mediterranee.org to create your account and personal space.

2. Once registered you will have the opportunity to order or download a free Cybelle Méditerranée observation kit adapted to your profile (diver or yachtsman). This kit will help you better understand the program and apply its protocols (diving pads, cash guides, user guide etc ...).

3. When you go out at sea, you will record your observations and record them on your account directly on the program's website.

4 2 nautical and underwater protocols protocols can track 75 marine species. Each observation is entered directly online and will be instantly added to the program's database.
Participate in sea observations: Cybelle Planète also organizes sailing weeks in July and August to collect information on cetaceans and other species of the open sea.

Learn more about the mission study of cetaceans and biodiversity in the Mediterranean Sea

... And contribute to a concrete research program!

> "To better protect" is inextricably accompanied by "knowing better": long-term study and monitoring of biodiversity makes it possible to assess the impact of human activity on the marine environment (pollution, climate change, invasions of new species, etc.).

> Participatory sciences, which involve non-specialist amateurs, make it possible to multiply the resources. Follow long term biodiversity requires material and financial resources, the labor and time; This often hinders the "classic" research.

> Participatory science is a tool whose contributors and scientists derive mutual benefit: Participatory science in an educational and educational interest for contributors; they are also a practical and easy way to take action for the planet! As scientists, they get quality information and useful to their research.

The results of Cybelle Méditerranée program

The website www.cybelle-mediterranee.org program provides interactive visualization space of the data collected by the community. Thus, as and when the counting, it is possible to observe directly on cards and graphic distribution of animals.

The collection of data started in 2009, it will be necessary to wait another one or two years so that the first scientific analyzes can take place. In the meantime, everyone can freely consult the results online and follow their evolution as and when the contributions!

French English

Communiqué de presse, avril 2013

Un programme de sciences participatives en mer Méditerranée

Ce programme de l’association Cybelle Planète, s’adresse à toute personne naviguant sur un bateau et/ou pratiquant la plongée sous-marine.
Plongeurs, plaisanciers, scientifiques et passionnés participent ensemble au suivi de l’état de santé de la mer Méditerranée, sur le long terme et à grande échelle !
 

L’objectif est de suivre la biodiversité marine pour mieux comprendre l’impact des changements de l’environnement (notamment climatiques) sur la mer Méditerranée.
Cybelle Méditerranée se base sur la contribution d’amateurs, plongeurs ou plaisanciers pour effectuer, sans formation préalable, des observations en mer. Des méthodes simples ont été établies par la commission scientifique et pédagogique du programme. Elles consistent à suivre l’évolution de la répartition et de l’abondance d’espèces sélectionnées (indicatrices de l’état de l’environnement). Les informations collectées sont directement restituées par les contributeurs sur le site web du programme. Dans le respect de sa charte éthique, le programme Cybelle Méditerranée est ouvert à tous et les données enregistrées sur le site web sont libres d’accès et téléchargeables gratuitement.

Plus d’informations sur le programme de sciences participatives Cybelle Méditerranée

Plongeurs et plaisanciers, participez au programme Cybelle Méditerranée…

La participation est libre, gratuite, et très simple :

1.    Inscrivez-vous en ligne sur le site web www.cybelle-mediterranee.org pour créer votre compte et votre espace personnel.

2.    Une fois inscrit vous aurez la possibilité de commander ou de télécharger gratuitement un kit d’observation Cybelle Méditerranée adapté à votre profil (plongeur ou plaisancier). Ce kit vous aidera à mieux comprendre le programme et à appliquer ses protocoles (plaquettes de plongée, guides espèces, guide d’utilisation etc…).

3.    Lors de vos sorties en mer, vous noterez vos observations et les enregistrerez sur votre compte directement sur le site web du programme.

4 protocoles subaquatiques et 2 protocoles nautiques permettent de suivre 75 espèces marines. Chaque observation est saisie directement en ligne, et sera instantanément ajoutée à la base de données du programme.
Participer aux observations en mer : Cybelle Planète organise également des semaines en voilier, en juillet et août, pour collecter des informations sur les cétacés et autres espèces du grand large.

En savoir plus sur la mission Étude des cétacés et de la biodiversité en mer Méditerranée

 

…et contribuez à un programme de recherche concret !

>   « Mieux protéger » s’accompagne indissociablement de « mieux connaître » : l’étude et le suivi à long terme de la biodiversité permet d’évaluer l’impact de l’activité humaine  sur le milieu marin (pollutions, changements climatiques, invasions de nouvelles espèces…).

>   Les sciences participatives, qui font intervenir des amateurs non-spécialistes, permettent de démultiplier les moyens. Suivre à long terme la biodiversité nécessite des moyens matériels et financiers, de la main d’œuvre et du temps ; ce qui freine souvent les recherches « classiques ».

>   Les sciences participatives sont un outil dont les contributeurs et les scientifiques tirent un bénéfice mutuel : Les sciences participatives présentent un intérêt pédagogique et éducatif pour les contributeurs ; elles sont aussi un moyen concret et facile d’agir pour la planète ! Quant aux scientifiques, ils obtiennent des informations de qualité et utiles à leurs recherches.

 

Les résultats du programme Cybelle Méditerranée

Le site web du programme www.cybelle-mediterranee.org offre un espace interactif de visualisation des données collectées par la communauté. Ainsi, au fur et à mesure des comptages, il est possible d’observer directement sur des cartes et des graphiques la répartition des animaux.

La collecte de données a démarré en 2009, il faudra patienter encore un an ou deux pour que les premières analyses scientifiques puissent avoir lieu. En attendant, chacun peut librement consulter les résultats en ligne et suivre leur évolution  au fur et à mesure des contributions !