French English

Press release, September 2014: eco-volunteering, civic engagement and ethical mode of travel

The eco-volunteering can resemble a participatory tourism where ecovolunteers join a local team of professionals in the protection of biodiversity and help in the field.

In France this mode of travel is still too little known, but the number of fans is growing. A little less than a dozen agencies, non-profit mostly offer of eco-volunteering missions in French public. Among these is Cybelle Planète since 2005 for citizen participation in the actions of nature protection.

Increasing success

Since its inception, Cybelle Planète is requested by more and more eco-volunteers and projects. 5 recent years, the association has observed an increasing of 149% + of + ecovolunteers and 92% of the number of protection programs for biodiversity partners.

This success is due in part to a better understanding of eco-volunteering by the general public, but also certainly to scientific attention and ethics given by its founder, Céline Arnal, both in projects and returns to give ecovolunteers .

Anxious to give the eco-volunteering strong ethical and transparent, Cybelle Planète created in 2013 the Collective of Francophone eco-volunteering. This approach aims to create a virtuous and ethical practice network for both the organizers and the eco-volunteers.

A practice of eco-volunteering to clarify

After leading in 2013 a study on eco-volunteering the finding was disturbing, transparency is more than organizing structures left behind! For example, only 14% of eco-volunteering organizations showed clearly or is the money paid by ecovolunteers, 10% only explained their criteria for selecting their partners and only 12% of its agencies regularly reassessed missions where are sent ecovolunteers. Moreover, despite a large number of offers of eco-volunteer missions, some of them offer real transparency on the conservation project, the partners, the results ...

These findings are perhaps not only the result of a lack of ethics of the organizers but also a lack of resources given to the need to be accountable to the ecovolunteers who, do not forget, give their time and their money. Whatever the cause, it seemed to us necessary to try to improve things.

participatory debate: Citizen construction of the first ethical charter of eco-volunteering

To clarify the offer and the practice of eco-volunteering both for the organizers and for the travelers, the Collective launched in October 2013 democratic debate, in the form of online questionnaire open to all citizens. The objective is to:

  • Find a common and unified definition of eco-volunteering
  • Create an ethical charter of eco-volunteering to which signatories must respond, point by point, in greater transparency.

This project was conducted in 3 steps. The first two were to take annotations and comments and so to complete the definition and the charter. The third stage, which is taking place until November 15, submit the final versions to internet vote. The points that have received a majority of YES will be definitively validated.

So far 220 participants gave their views, among them, the main structures of eco-volunteering 8 and ecovolunteers and tourism professionals. The Collective has managed to bring together key French players in the eco-volunteering that have all responded positively from the start.

ecovolunteer aware of and motivated

The eco-volunteering is still a recent activity, and the popularity of eco-volunteers is adapted to the offer. Hitherto few of them were aware of the value of their contribution and did not think to have or even ask for complete information on the project in which they participate and / or the results obtained thanks to them.

The eco-volunteer's charter will allow structures to have better visibility and ecovolunteers to choose among the many offers according to specific criteria.

Moreover, ensuring from the outset that the eco-volunteering follow an ethical line, one can envisage a sustainable development of the activity.

For more information

Cybelle Planet: www.cybelle-planete.org

This e-mail address is protected against spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Website French collective of eco-volunteering

French English

Communiqué de presse, septembre 2014 : Ecovolontariat, un engagement citoyen et un mode de voyage éthique

L’écovolontariat peut s’apparenter à un tourisme participatif, où les écovolontaires rejoignent une équipe locale de professionnels de la protection de la biodiversité et les aident sur le terrain.

En France ce mode de voyage est encore trop peu connu, mais le nombre des amateurs ne cesse de croître. Un peu moins d’une dizaine d’organismes, à but non-lucratif pour la plupart, proposent des missions d’écovolontariat au public Français. Parmi ces derniers Cybelle Planète agit depuis 2005 pour une participation citoyenne aux actions de protection de la nature.

Un succès croissant

Depuis sa création, Cybelle Planète est sollicitée par de plus en plus d’écovolontaires et de projets. Ces 5 dernières années, l’association a observé une croissante de +149% d’écovolontaires et de +92% du nombre de programmes de protection de la biodiversité partenaires.

Ce succès est dû d’une part à une meilleure connaissance de l’écovolontariat par le grand public, mais aussi certainement à une attention scientifique et éthique donnée par sa fondatrice, Céline Arnal, à la fois aux projets et aux retours à donner aux écovolontaires.

Soucieuse de donner à l’écovolontariat une éthique forte et transparente, Cybelle Planète a créé en 2013 le Collectif Francophone de l’Ecovolontariat. Cette démarche a pour objectif de créer un réseau de pratique vertueux et éthique à la fois pour les organisateurs et les écovolontaires.

Une pratique de l’écovolontariat à clarifier

Après avoir mené en 2013 une étude sur l’écovolontariat le constat fut inquiétant, la transparence des structures organisatrices est plus que laissée pour compte ! A titre d’exemple, seulement 14% des organismes d’écovolontariat affichaient clairement ou va l’argent versé par les écovolontaires, 10% seulement expliquaient leurs critères de sélection de leur partenaires, et seulement 12% de ses organismes réévaluaient régulièrement les missions où sont envoyés les écovolontaires. De plus, malgré un nombre important d’offres de missions d’écovolontariat, peu d’entre elles offrent une réelle transparence sur le projet de conservation, les partenaires, les résultats obtenus…

Ces constats ne sont peut-être pas uniquement le résultat d’un manque d’éthique des organisateurs mais aussi d’un manque de moyens donnés à la nécessité de rendre des comptes aux écovolontaires qui, ne l’oublions pas, donnent de leur temps et de leur argent. Qu’elle qu’en soit la cause, il nous a semblé nécessaire d’essayer d’améliorer les choses.  

Débat participatif : construction citoyenne de la première charte éthique de l’écovolontariat

Pour clarifier l’offre et la pratique de l’écovolontariat à la fois pour les organisateurs et pour les voyageurs, le Collectif a lancé en octobre 2013 un débat démocratique, sous la forme de questionnaire en ligne ouvert à tous les citoyens. Les objectif étant de :

  • Trouver une définition commune et unanime de l’écovolontariat
  • Créer une charte éthique de l’écovolontariat à laquelle les signataires devront répondre, point par point, dans la plus grande transparence.

Ce projet s’est déroulé en 3 étapes. Les deux premières consistaient à recueillir les annotations et les commentaires et ainsi à finaliser la définition et la charte. La troisième étape, qui se déroule actuellement et jusqu’au 15 novembre, soumet les versions finales au vote des internautes. Les points qui auront reçus une majorité de OUI seront définitivement validés.

Jusqu’à présent 220 participants ont donné leur avis, et parmi eux, les 8 principales structures d’écovolontariat et leur écovolontaires, ainsi que des professionnels du tourisme. Le Collectif a donc réussi à rassembler les principaux acteurs francophones de l’écovolontariat qui ont tous répondu positivement dès le départ.

Des écovolontaire informés et motivés

L’écovolontariat est une activité encore récente, et l’engouement des écovolontaires c’est adapté à l’offre. Jusque-là peu d’entre eux avaient conscience de la valeur de leur contribution et ne pensaient pas à avoir ou même demander une information complète sur le projet auquel ils participent et/ou les résultats obtenus notamment grâce à eux.

La charte de l’écovolontariat permettra aux structures d’avoir une meilleure visibilité et aux écovolontaires de faire un choix parmi les nombreuses offres selon des critères précis.

De plus, en s’assurant dès le départ que l’écovolontariat suive une ligne éthique, on peut envisager un développement durable de l’activité.

Pour plus d’information

Cybelle Planète : www.cybelle-planete.org

Cette adresse e-mail est protégée contre les robots spammeurs. Vous devez activer le JavaScript pour la visualiser.

site web du collectif francophone d'écovolontariat