French English

Eco-volunteering in South Africa

Eco-volunteering in South Africa

L'South Africa enjoys incredible biodiversity, While being very urbanized, especially for a country in Africa. South Africa is one of the African countries where wildlife is best observed. This is where you will most likely see the Big Five: the Black Rhinoceros, the Cape Buffalo, the Elephant, the Leopard and the Lion.

Featuring a splendid coastline swept by the winds, which unfolds over 2 500 km. Inland, one passes from the savanna in the east to the tropical forests and the peaks constantly plunged in the fog to the north-west, crossing the hilly hills of the center of the country.

It is possible to observe wildlife all year round, But winter (June-September) is probably the best period. The weather becomes soft and dry, the foliage clears and the animals gather around the water points. In summer (late November-March), warmth and humidity offer greener landscapes, but animals disperse. If the birds are visible in all seasons, the spring (September-November) and the summer remain more favorable to their observation.

South Africa ranks third in the world in terms of biodiversity. It is also one of the most urbanized countries in the continent, with cities accounting for over 50% of the population. Managing the urban explosion and population growth while protecting the environment is a critical challenge for the government.

On some 600 national parks and reserves of the country, the most famous protect wild animals, while others are mainly natural sanctuaries or hiking places. South Africa has long been at the forefront of wildlife protection on the continent. However, funds are limited and will remain so until many people have access to basic facilities. Rhinoceros poaching throughout the country, particularly in Kruger National Park, is compounded by the lack of financial resources. The solution may lie in public / private partnerships and financial support from private donors and international organizations.

South Africa

Sanctuary vervet monkeys in South Africa

This eco-volunteering mission consists in helping a program of safeguarding the ...
South Africa

Monitoring of Wildlife, South Africa

By joining this project, you will participate in monitoring the wildlife of South Africa. The host project is dedicated to the preservation of bush wildlife and more ...

Last testimonies of eco-volunteers to the country of South Africa

Find a job

French English

Ecovolontariat en Afrique du Sud

Ecovolontariat en Afrique du Sud

LAfrique du Sud jouit d’une incroyable biodiversité, tout en étant très urbanisée, surtout pour un pays d’Afrique. L’Afrique du Sud fait partie des pays africains où l’on observe le mieux les animaux sauvages. C’est ici que vous aurez le plus de chances de voir les Big Five : le rhinocéros noir, le buffle du Cap, l’éléphant, le léopard et le lion.

Dotée d’un littoral splendide balayé par les vents, qui se déploie sur plus de 2 500 km. A l’intérieur des terres, on passe de la savane à l’est aux forêts tropicales et aux pics constamment plongés dans le brouillard au nord-ouest, en traversant les collines vallonnées du centre du pays.

Il est possible d’observer la faune toute l’année, mais l’hiver (juin-septembre) constitue sans doute la meilleure période. Le temps devient doux et sec, le feuillage s’éclaircit et les animaux se rassemblent autour des points d’eau. En été (fin novembre-mars), chaleur et humidité offrent des paysages plus verdoyants, mais les animaux se dispersent. Si les oiseaux sont visibles en toute saison, le printemps (septembre-novembre) et l’été restent plus favorables à leur observation.

L’Afrique du Sud se place au troisième rang mondial sur le plan de la diversité biologique. C’est aussi l’un des pays les plus urbanisés du continent, ses villes regroupant plus de 50% de la population. Gérer l’explosion urbaine et la croissance démographique tout en protégeant l’environnement constitue pour le gouvernement un défi crucial.

Sur les quelque 600 parcs nationaux et réserves du pays, les plus réputés protègent des animaux sauvages, tandis que d’autres sont essentiellement des sanctuaires naturels ou des lieux de randonnée. L’Afrique du Sud est depuis longtemps à l’avant-garde de la protection de la faune sur le continent. Cependant, les fonds sont restreints et le resteront tant que de nombreux habitants n’auront pas accès aux équipements de base. Ainsi, le braconnage des rhinocéros dans tout le pays, en particulier dans le Kruger National Park, est aggravé par le peu de moyens financiers. La solution réside peut-être dans des partenariats public/privé et dans un appui financier de donateurs privés et d’organisations internationales.

Afrique du sud

Sanctuaire des singes Vervets en Afrique du sud

Cette mission d’écovolontariat consiste à aider un programme de sauvegarde du...
Afrique du sud

Suivi de la Faune Sauvage, Afrique du sud

En vous joignant à ce projet, vous participerez au suivi de la faune sauvage d’Afrique du Sud. Le projet d'accueille se voue à la préservation de la faune sauvage de la brousse et plus...

Derniers témoignages d'écovolontaires pour le pays Afrique du sud

Chercher une mission