French English

Testimony of Valérie for the mission Sanctuaire of the Vervets monkeys in South Africa

21 days of mission in April 2018

My participation

The work I did consisted mainly of monitoring (monitor the young vervet monkeys being rehabilitated on the interactions with other adult and young monkeys, their diet .... and note their behavior), go around the " sections "sheltering monkeys rehabilitated to provide water and" forage ", prepare / cut fruit for monkeys' food and clean containers, help cooking for the whole small community .... The work is actually varied and everyone can find their place and contribute to the proper functioning of the foundation that needs much reinforcement.

My expectations

I really appreciated the diversity of ecovolunteers' origins and their motivations for this experience (but having in common a certain taste for the preservation of the environment), the contact with the monkeys (endearing but also mischievous!) And to live during 3 weeks in this corner of nature, returning to the essential (but quite sufficient) regarding the living conditions.

My advice

Have a good level in English even if Francophones can help you on the spot (thanks again to them .....), have a good sense of the adaptation to the life in community, well to like the walk (the ground of the foundation is extended).
The site is isolated, transport programming, ancillary activities and menu-shopping is not always easy.
No worries if you are not vegan or vegetarian in advance, the food is excellent!

What I retain

Contribute, at my small level, to the rehabilitation of a species unfairly considered as "vermin" but suffering in fact from the disappearance of the forests constituting its natural habitat and the development of road infrastructures (collisions).

My assets

Want to go on an eco-volunteering mission.
Long-time vegetarian, (try to) switch to a vegan diet.

The mission Sanctuary vervet monkeys, South Africa

Vervet Monkey Sanctuary, South Africa
This eco-volunteering mission consists in helping a program of safeguarding the ...
See Mission

French English

Témoignage de Valérie pour la mission Sanctuaire des singes Vervets en Afrique du sud

Mission de 21 jours effectuée en avril 2018

Ma participation

Le travail que j'ai effectué a consisté essentiellement en monitoring (surveiller les jeunes singes vervets en cours de réhabilitation sur les interactions avec les autres singes adultes et jeunes, leur alimentation.... et noter leur comportement), faire le tour des "sections" abritant les singes réhabilités pour fournir eau et "fourrage", préparer/couper les fruits pour la nourriture des singes et nettoyer les récipients, aider à la cuisine pour l'ensemble de la petite communauté.... Le travail est en fait varié et tout le monde peut trouver sa place et contribuer au bon fonctionnement de la fondation qui a bien besoin de renfort.

Mes attentes

J'ai beaucoup apprécié la diversité de provenance des écovolontaires et de leurs motivations pour cette expérience (mais ayant en commun un gout certain pour la préservation de l'environnement), le contact avec les singes (attachants mais aussi espiègles !) et de vivre pendant 3 semaines dans ce coin de nature, en revenant à l'essentiel ( mais bien suffisant) en ce qui concerne les conditions de vie.

Mes conseils

Avoir un bon niveau en anglais même si des francophones pourront vous aider sur place (encore merci à eux.....), avoir un bon sens de l'adaptation à la vie en communauté, bien aimer le marche à pied (le terrain de la fondation est étendu).
Le site étant isolé, la programmation des transports, des activités annexes et menu-shopping n'est pas toujours aisé.
Pas d'inquiétudes si vous n'êtes pas d'avance vegan ou végétarien, la cuisine y est excellente !

Ce que j'en retiens

Contribuer, à mon petit niveau, à la réhabilitation d'une espèce injustement considérée comme "vermine" mais souffrant en fait de la disparition des forêts constituant son habitat naturel et du développement des infrastructures routières (collisions).

Mes acquis

Envie de repartir en mission d'écovolontariat.
Végétarienne de longue date, (tenter de) passer à une alimentation vegan.

La mission Sanctuaire Singes Vervets, Afrique du sud

Sanctuaire Singes Vervets, Afrique du sud
Cette mission d’écovolontariat consiste à aider un programme de sauvegarde du...
Voir la mission