French English

Testimony of Stéphanie for the Mission Sanctuaire des mones Vervets in South Africa

Mission of 28 days performed in February 2019

My participation

My name is Stephanie. I am 29 years old and I am currently in 3ème and last year of a Baccalaureat in Agronomy with Animal Technology. As part of my internship, I spent a month (February 2019) at the Vervet Monkey Foundation ... What an incredible adventure!
Fascinated for a long time by the African continent and fascinated by primatology and great apes through the work of people like Jane Goodall, it was a very exciting and especially exciting experience to discover the vervets in their natural environment.

My expectations

The energy of South Africa, the splendid setting of the sanctuary, the seriousness of the project, the kindness and generosity of the people I met, the friendly and relaxed atmosphere, the vegan lifestyle and more that all the meeting with this species of primates highly social and intelligent, all I really liked! I immediately felt comfortable and in tune with the management and philosophy of the rehabilitation and conservation program. Always well supervised by the members of the team on site, I learned a lot while feeling fully involved in this project. As Dave Du Toit, founder and director of the VMF, said, I could see the difference I made in the everyday life of these animals just by looking in their eyes every day.

What I retain

I am very grateful and proud to have been part of this eco-volunteering project! I also hope to have the chance to return one day ... Take care of baby vervets, work hard for their integration with the troops, live among the Bandits (a wild population of vervets that evolve around the pens) and I wish it with all my heart to see these primates integrate the "Vervet Forest".

The mission Sanctuary vervet monkeys, South Africa

Vervet Monkey Sanctuary, South Africa
This eco-volunteering mission consists in helping a program of safeguarding the ...
See Mission

French English

Témoignage de Stéphanie pour la mission Sanctuaire des singes Vervets en Afrique du sud

Mission de 28 jours effectuée en février 2019

Ma participation

Je m’appelle Stéphanie. J’ai 29 ans et je suis actuellement en 3ème et dernière année d’un Baccalauréat en Agronomie à finalité Technologie Animalière. Dans le cadre de mes stages, j’ai passé un mois (février 2019) au Vervet Monkey Foundation… Quelle aventure incroyable !
Fascinée depuis longtemps par le continent africain et passionnée par la primatologie et les grands singes au travers des travaux de personnes comme Jane Goodall, cela a été une expérience très excitante et surtout passionnante de partir à la découverte des vervets dans leur milieu naturel.

Mes attentes

L’énergie dégagée par l’Afrique du Sud, le cadre splendide du sanctuaire, le sérieux du projet, la gentillesse et la générosité des gens que j’y ai rencontrés, l’ambiance conviviale et décontractée, le mode de vie vegan et plus que tout la rencontre avec cette espèce de primates hautement sociale et intelligente, tout m’a énormément plu ! Je me suis sentie immédiatement à l’aise et en accord avec la gestion et la philosophie du programme de réhabilitation et de conservation. Toujours bien encadrée par les membres de l’équipe sur place, j’ai beaucoup appris tout en me sentant pleinement impliquée dans ce projet. Comme le disait Dave Du Toit, fondateur et directeur du VMF, je pouvais voir la différence que j’apportais dans le quotidien de ces animaux simplement en regardant dans leurs yeux chaque jour.

Ce que j'en retiens

Je suis très reconnaissante et fière d’avoir fait partie de ce projet d’écovolontariat ! J’espère d’ailleurs avoir la chance d’y retourner un jour… Prendre soin des bébés vervets, travailler dur pour leur intégration auprès des troupes, vivre au milieu des Bandits (une population sauvage de vervets qui évoluent autour des enclos) et je le souhaite de tout cœur voir ces primates intégrer la « Vervet Forest ».

La mission Sanctuaire Singes Vervets, Afrique du sud

Sanctuaire Singes Vervets, Afrique du sud
Cette mission d’écovolontariat consiste à aider un programme de sauvegarde du...
Voir la mission