French English

Testimony of stephanie for the mission Protection and study of primates in Benin

day mission in August 2012

My participation

During my time job was to observe a population of Monas living in a small forest, to note their behavior, educate residents of a village near the forest and has planted mangrove lake Ahémé. A day of work began in General 9h and finished to 18h.

My expectations

I enjoyed my stay, eco-guides are very nice, interesting, very caring with ecovolunteers and involved in their work. By cons I found that it is not active enough in restoring the habitat of these monkeys, though this is the title of this mission and I find it very unfortunate. It is also unfortunate that the ideas, which for some of the reports of eco-volunteers were regularly submitted, is not exploited because of the limited resources given to eco-guides.

My advice

For future ecovolunteers, do not hesitate to ask to change activities and to take the lead if you think you have a good idea.

What I retain

This mission allowed me to discover a culture I did not know and appreciate the simplicity, authenticity and its hard but reality. She mostly confirmed my desire to get involved in the protection of nature It was a rewarding experience that I do it again without hesitation.

The Primates Mission, South Benin

Primates, South Benin
Restoration of primate habitat in the Mono Valley, Benin This mission immerses you in an eco-development program in Benin. The project aims to set up a ...
See Mission

French English

Témoignage de stephanie pour la mission Protection et étude des primates au Bénin

Mission de jours effectuée en août 2012

Ma participation

Durant mon séjour le travail consistait à observer une population de Monas vivant dans une petite foret, à noter leur comportement, sensibiliser les habitants d'un village voisin de la foret ainsi qu'a la plantation de palétuvier sur le lac Ahémé. Une journée de travaille commençait en général a 9h et se finissait vers 18h.

Mes attentes

J'ai apprécié mon séjour, les éco-guides sont très gentils, intéressants, aux petits soins avec les écovolontaires et impliqués dans leur travail. Par contre j'ai trouvé que l'on n'est pas assez actif dans la restauration de l'habitat de ces singes, bien que ce soit l'intitulé de cette mission et je trouve ça très dommage. Il est également dommage que les idées, qui pour certaines d'après les rapports des ecovolontaires ont régulièrement été soumises, ne soit pas exploitées à cause du peu de moyens donné aux éco-guides.

Mes conseils

Pour les futurs ecovolontaires, ne pas hésiter à demander de changer d'activités et de prendre les devants si vous pensez avoir une bonne idée.

Ce que j'en retiens

Cette mission m'a permis de découvrir une culture que je ne connaissais pas et d'en apprécier la simplicité, l’authenticité mais ainsi que sa dur réalité. Elle m'a surtout confirmé mon envie de m'impliquer dans la protection de la nature Ça a été une expérience enrichissante que je referai sans hésiter.

La mission Primates, Sud Bénin

Primates, Sud Bénin
Restauration de l'habitat des primates dans la vallée du Mono, Bénin Cette mission vous immerge dans un programme d'éco-développement au Bénin. Le projet vise à mettre en place un...
Voir la mission