French English

Testimony of Emilio for the mission Expeditions in the sanctuary Pelagos: study of Cetaceans and Biodiversity, France

Mission of 7 days performed in July 2019

My participation

Groups of three people were formed each day to carry out observation shifts. A quarter lasted 1H30 (duration initially planned at 2H, but reduced to 1H30 given the concentration effort that this could represent). Each ecovolunteer made about 3 per day. The groups were not fixed and changed every quarter so that we all worked together. We were equipped with binoculars equipped with a compass to measure the course, and had a tablet with ObsEnMer software to collect observation data.

These data came from meetings with cetaceans - that each participant was waiting with a mixture of hope and impatience! - but also the census of human activities (boats around) and possible waste. The ObsEnMer application is well designed and easy to use. You would nevertheless be wrong to consider this task as boring, because as soon as cetaceans are reported, the boat begins a change of course to go cautiously to meet them, but in a great effervescence where everyone uses the means at their disposal to take photos and videos. In these moments we became children amazed by animals that some of us had never seen closely (as was my case).

Apart from the observations strictly speaking, we were involved in housework as well as in the preparation of meals. I feel very lucky because among the participants were several blue cords: we were even entitled during our stay to a risotto (thank you Stephanie and Nicole), a tartiflette (thank you Frédéric) and an excellent chocolate cake (thank you Karine)!

My expectations

I really enjoyed my eco-volunteering week for this first cetacean observation mission. In addition to these unique encounters with animals, the experience of navigation is very interesting in itself: to move and live on the boat, to observe the swell and to read the sea, to understand the maneuvers adds to the interest of the mission . The organization on board the boat was very well orchestrated

My advice

Some tips to bring less business:

- Find out if you will need white-soled shoes to get on the boat. For the end of July 2019, we were simply barefoot throughout the mission. It may be that you do not need to bring specific shoes to stay on board

- Bring your own pair of binoculars is not necessary since you will be provided one for the observations, also provided with a compass to determine the course

- No need to bring sheets or covers in addition to your sleeping bag. The mattresses of the cabins are already protected by a cover

What I retain

This mission made me live an exceptional experience: contact with marine animals that I had never approached. Staying on a boat day and night for a week is a rewarding experience. The landscapes are splendid, like the sunlight at its zenith giving birth to countless reflections glittering on the waves, sunset and sunrise, the stars after dark, beautiful coastal landscapes, and of course solidarity and conviviality on board despite a certain promiscuity

My assets

This eco-volunteering mission with Cybelle Planète is meaningful for anyone trying to commit to a more environmentally friendly way of life. The beauty of this experience motivates me to commit to daily zero waste and limit my own consumption of water and energy. Behaviors that are naturally required when on board the boat

Contact

You can contact me at the following address if you have questions: This e-mail address is protected against spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

The Cetaceans mission Pelagos, France

Pelagos Cetacean, France
These sailing expeditions aim to study the marine biodiversity of the open sea in the Mediterranean Sea, in the Pelagos marine mammal sanctuary. The crew records and ...
See Mission

French English

Témoignage de Emilio pour la mission Expéditions dans le sanctuaire Pélagos : étude des Cétacés et de la Biodiversité, France

Mission de 7 jours effectuée en juillet 2019

Ma participation

Des groupes de trois personnes étaient constitués chaque jour pour réaliser les quarts d’observation. Un quart durait 1H30 (durée initialement prévue à 2H, mais ramenée à 1H30 étant donné l’effort de concentration que cela pouvait représenter). Chaque écovolontaire en réalisait environ 3 par jour. Les groupes n’étaient pas figés et changeaient à chaque quart de manière à nous faire tous collaborer. Nous étions équipés de jumelles pourvues d’une boussole pour mesurer le cap, et disposions d’une tablette avec le logiciel ObsEnMer pour collecter les données d’observation.

Ces données provenaient des rencontres avec les cétacés - que chaque participant(e) attendait avec un mélange d’espoir et d’impatience ! - mais aussi du recensement des activités humaines (bateaux alentours) et d’éventuels déchets. L’application ObsEnMer est bien conçue et aisée à utiliser. Vous auriez néanmoins tort de considérer cette tâche comme ennuyeuse, car dès que des cétacés sont signalés, le bateau amorce un changement de cap pour aller prudemment à leur rencontre, mais dans une belle effervescence où chacun use des moyens à sa disposition pour prendre photos et vidéos. Dans ces instants nous redevenions des enfants émerveillés par des animaux que certains d’entre nous n’avaient jamais vus de près (comme c’était mon cas).

En dehors des observations à proprement parler, nous étions impliqués dans des tâches ménagères ainsi que dans la préparation des repas. Je m’estime bien chanceux car parmi les participants figuraient plusieurs cordons bleus : nous avons même eu droit durant notre séjour à un risotto (merci Stéphanie et Nicole), une tartiflette (merci Frédéric) et un excellent gâteau au chocolat (merci Karine) !

Mes attentes

J’ai beaucoup apprécié ma semaine d’écovolontariat pour cette première mission d’observation des cétacés. A ces rencontres uniques avec les animaux s'ajoute l'expérience de la navigation très intéressante en elle-même : se déplacer et vivre sur le bateau, observer la houle et lire la mer, comprendre les manœuvres ajoute à l'intérêt de la mission. L’organisation à bord du bateau était très bien orchestrée

Mes conseils

Quelques conseils pour amener moins d’affaires :

- Renseignez-vous pour savoir si vous aurez besoin de chaussures à semelle blanche pour vous déplacer sur le bateau. Pour le séjour de fin juillet 2019, nous étions tout simplement pieds nus durant toute la mission. Il se pourrait donc que vous n’ayez pas besoin d’amener de chaussures spécifiques pour rester à bord

- Amener votre propre paire de jumelles n’est pas nécessaire puisque l’on vous en fournira une pour les observations, par ailleurs pourvue d’une boussole pour déterminer le cap

- Inutile d’amener drap ou housse en plus de votre sac de couchage. Les matelas des cabines étant déjà protégés par une housse

Ce que j'en retiens

Cette mission m’a fait vivre une expérience exceptionnelle : le contact avec des animaux marins que je n’avais jamais approché. Le fait de séjourner à bord d’un bateau jour et nuit pendant une semaine est en soit une expérience gratifiante. Les paysages sont splendides, comme la lumière du soleil à son zénith donnant naissance à d’innombrables reflets scintillant sur les vagues, le coucher et lever du soleil, les étoiles une fois la nuit tombée, les paysages côtiers magnifiques, et bien sûr la solidarité et la convivialité à bord malgré une certaine promiscuité

Mes acquis

Cette mission d’écovolontariat avec Cybelle Planète est porteuse de sens pour quiconque essaye de s’engager vers un mode de vie plus respectueux de l’environnement. La beauté de cette expérience me motive pour m’engager au quotidien vers le zéro déchets et limiter ma propre consommation d’eau et d’énergie. Comportements qui sont naturellement requis lorsqu’on est à bord du bateau

Contact

Vous pouvez me contacter à l'adresse suivante si vous avez des questions : Cette adresse e-mail est protégée contre les robots spammeurs. Vous devez activer le JavaScript pour la visualiser.

La mission Cétacés du Pélagos, France

Cétacés du Pélagos, France
Ces expéditions en voilier ont pour objectif d’étudier la biodiversité marine du large en mer méditerranée, dans le sanctuaire Pélagos des mammifères marins. L’équipage recense et...
Voir la mission