French English

Testimony of Chabot for the expeditions mission in the Pelagos sanctuary: study of Cetaceans and Biodiversity, France

Mission of 7 days done in August 2020

My participation

The objective of this mission is to list and identify cetaceans as well as their behavior, numbers, etc. (even if of course other marine animals such as rays or turtles for example were also the subject of surveys and observations). This mission is therefore a contribution to scientific databases, which once exploited make it possible to know a little better the marine species observed, while enjoying the great outdoors, great people and an experience at sea.
The days are organized in observation shifts with 3 people per shift (but nothing prevents others from observing too!). During my mission, we generally had 1 to 3 observation shifts per day of 1h30. The observation shifts immediately began quite far from the coast (generally around 8:30 am to 9 am) and ended around 17 pm, but depending on the conditions it is always possible to prolong the pleasure!

The "work" on board is also obviously made up of the various tasks of daily life. An organization in quarters also allows an optimal organization for all that is preparation of meals, dishes and cleaning.

My expectations

The stay met my best expectations. I came to spend a week of eco-volunteering to feel useful, see the landscape, nature (hoping to see lots of marine animals), take "the air" and share moments with other unknown people and I loved it!

Everyone has their own experience as a crew, but I came across a crew of people who came alone: ​​we therefore built a strong bond between all of us very quickly. Life on board in this rather small space that we did not leave the week was very pleasant, but also enriching (knowledge of cetaceans, sharks, the sea, ..).

And of course, in the end, I hoped to see lots of animals and I was served! (sperm whale, dolphins, risso dolphins, globis, turtles, sea devils ...)

My advice

I would say that, even if observing the marine animals is the objective of the mission and brings an enormous more wonder, one should not be afraid of not seeing anything (or little) to see of the week because the experience in itself constitutes most of the experience and unforgettable moments.

What I retain

First, she brought me the breath of fresh air, sharing and discovery that I wanted and needed at that time.
It also brought me new knowledge and new encounters.

My assets

I think that this experience was able to strengthen several aspects that can be transposed to my daily life. There is a large dimension of group life (organization, trust, sense of service and sharing) on ​​board for example.
Obviously, this also gives a lived experience allowing me to personally support my awareness of the preservation of ecosystems.
Personally, I also draw on the memories of this type of experience (fullness, difficulties overcome and satisfactions, meetings and sharing, positive energy deployed throughout the day ...)
when I need dynamism, a boost, or to help me make choices in what I do and want to do.

Contact

You can contact me at the following address if you have questions: This e-mail address is protected against spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

The Cetaceans mission Pelagos, France

Pelagos Cetacean, France
These sailing expeditions aim to study the marine biodiversity of the open sea in the Mediterranean Sea, in the Pelagos sanctuary of marine mammals. The crew identifies and ...
See Mission

French English

Témoignage de Chabot pour la mission Expéditions dans le sanctuaire Pélagos : étude des Cétacés et de la Biodiversité, France

Mission de 7 jours effectuée en août 2020

Ma participation

L'objectif de cette mission est de recenser et identifier les cétacés ainsi que leurs comportements, nombres, etc. (même si bien entendu les autres animaux marins comme les raies ou les tortues par exemple faisaient aussi l'objet de relevés et d'observations). Cette mission est donc une contribution aux bases de données scientifiques, qui une fois exploitées permettent de connaître un peu mieux les espèces marines observées, le tout en profitant du grand air, de gens géniaux et d'une expérience en mer.
Les journées sont organisées en quarts d'observation avec 3 personnes par quart (mais rien n'empêche les autres d'observer aussi !). Pendant ma mission, on avait en général 1 à 3 quarts d'observation par jour de 1h30. Les quarts d'observations commençaient aussitôt assez éloignés des côtes (en général vers 8h30-9h) et terminaient autour de 17h, mais selon les conditions il est toujours possible de prolonger le plaisir !

Le "travail" à bord est aussi évidemment composé des différentes tâches de vie quotidienne. Une organisation en quarts également permet une organisation optimale pour tout ce qui est préparation des repas, vaisselles et ménage.

Mes attentes

Le séjour correspondait à mes meilleures attentes. Je venais passer une semaine d'écovolontariat pour me sentir utile, voir du paysage, de la nature (en espérant voir plein d'animaux marins), prendre "l'air" et partager des moments avec d'autres gens inconnus et j'ai adoré !

A chacun son expérience d'équipage, mais je suis tombé avec un équipage uniquement de personnes venues seules : on a donc tissé une forte complicité entre nous tous très rapidement. La vie à bord dans cet espace plutôt restreint que nous n'avons pas quitté de la semaine était très agréable, mais aussi enrichissante (connaissances sur les cétacés, requins, la mer,..).

Et bien sûr, pour finir, j'espérais voir plein d'animaux et j'ai été servi ! (cachalot, dauphins, dauphins de risso, globis, tortues, diables de mer...)

Mes conseils

Je dirais que, même si observer les animaux marins est l'objectif de la mission et apporte un énorme plus d'émerveillement, il ne faut pas avoir peur de ne rien (ou peu) voir de la semaine car l'expérience en soi constitue l'essentiel de l'expérience et des moments inoubliables.

Ce que j'en retiens

D'abord, elle m'a apportait le bol d'air, de partage et de découverte dont j'avais envie et besoin à ce moment-là.
Elle m'a aussi apporté de nouvelles connaissances et de nouvelles rencontres.

Mes acquis

Je pense que cette expérience a pu permettre de renforcer plusieurs aspects transposable à mon quotidien. Il y a une grande dimension de vie de groupe (organisation, confiance, sens du service et du partage) à bord par exemple.
Evidemment, cela donne aussi une expérience vécue permettant d'étayer personnellement ma sensibilisation à la préservation des écosystèmes.
Personnellement, je puise aussi dans les souvenirs de ce type d'expériences (plénitude, difficultés surmontées et satisfactions, rencontres et partages, énergie positive déployée toute la journée...)
lorsque j'ai besoin de dynamisme, d'un coup de boost, ou pour m'aider à faire des choix dans ce que je fais et veux faire.

Contact

Vous pouvez me contacter à l'adresse suivante si vous avez des questions : Cette adresse e-mail est protégée contre les robots spammeurs. Vous devez activer le JavaScript pour la visualiser.

La mission Cétacés du Pélagos, France

Cétacés du Pélagos, France
Ces expéditions en voilier ont pour objectif d’étudier la biodiversité marine du large en mer méditerranée, dans le sanctuaire Pélagos des mammifères marins. L’équipage recense et...
Voir la mission