French English

Testimony of Anne for the mission Expeditions in the sanctuary Pelagos: study of Cetacea and Biodiversity, France

Mission of 7 days performed in July 2017

My participation

Our work as an ecovolunteer is to observe cetaceans and other marine species. The work is in the form of 2h quarters during which we scan the sea in order to record all our observations in the OBSenMER application. It will then be used by scientists studying marine fauna and their behavior, particularly in relation to human activity.
The schedules of the day are very variable, it depends on the weather. But when all goes well, the days can start very early, 6h of the morning for the first quarters. We stop at 18h with a break at noon. But all this varies, of course, if the animals are there, we quickly forget his plate !! And there are also night shifts when you stay at sea.
But can we talk about schedules and work when we are there to observe the animals in their natural environment?

My expectations

I loved!!
It is an extraordinary experience both human and with respect to encounters with animals in their natural environment. It's magic.
It was even better than I imagined. I did not think so much about the maneuvers and I did not know what to expect from the night shifts. That was THE discovery. What a feeling of being on the deck of a sailboat at night, far from any landmark !!
So that more than fulfilled my expectations. I even regretted only one week.

My advice

Go there without hesitation!

What I retain

I have always liked to observe the animals, the marine mammals especially that I had had the opportunity to observe during my travels. But now I know that I have infinite patience to observe them relentlessly from morning to night over several days. It makes me want to go on.

My assets

I now know how to make bolognese spaghetti !!! ; D
More seriously, living on a sailboat at 9, teaches us tolerance and listening. Added to this is patience in our observations, nature is unpredictable and can be desired.
And then, living on a sailboat, reminded me how precious fresh water is.

The Cetaceans mission Pelagos, France

Pelagos Cetacean, France
These sailing expeditions aim to study the marine biodiversity of the open sea in the Mediterranean Sea, in the Pelagos marine mammal sanctuary. The crew records and ...
See Mission

French English

Témoignage de Anne pour la mission Expéditions dans le sanctuaire Pélagos : étude des Cétacés et de la Biodiversité, France

Mission de 7 jours effectuée en juillet 2017

Ma participation

Notre travail en tant qu'écovolontaire est d'observer les cétacés et autres espèces marines. Le travail se présente sous forme de quarts de 2h pendant lesquels nous scrutons la mer en vue de noter toutes nos observations dans l'application OBSenMER. Ce sera ensuite utilisé par des scientifiques qui étudient la faune marine et leur comportement, notamment en fonction de l'activité humaine.
Les horaires de la journée sont très variables, cela dépend de la météo. Mais quand tout va bien, les journées peuvent commencer de très bonne heure, 6h du matin pour les premiers quarts. On arrête vers 18h avec une pause à midi. Mais tout ça varie, bien entendu, si les animaux sont là, on oublie vite son assiette!! Et il y aussi les quarts de nuit lorsqu'on reste en mer.
Mais peut on parler d'horaires et de travail quand on est là pour observer les animaux dans leur milieu naturel ?

Mes attentes

J'ai ADORE!!
Il s'agit d'une expérience extraordinaire aussi bien humaine que vis à vis des rencontres avec les animaux dans leur milieu naturel. C'est magique.
C'était encore mieux que ce que j'imaginais. Je ne pensais pas autant participer aux manœuvres et je ne savais pas trop quoi attendre des quarts de nuit. Ça a été LA découverte. Que d'émotion que de se retrouver sur le pont d'un voilier la nuit, loin de tout repère!!
Donc cela à plus que comblé mes attentes. J'ai même regretté de ne faire qu'une semaine.

Mes conseils

Allez y sans hésiter!

Ce que j'en retiens

J'ai toujours aimé observé les animaux, les mammifères marins notamment que j'avais eu l'occasion d'observer au cours de mes voyages. Mais maintenant je sais que j'ai une patience infinie pour les observer sans relâche du matin au soir sur plusieurs jours. Ça me donne envie de continuer.

Mes acquis

Je sais maintenant faire les spaghettis bolognaises!!! ;D
Plus sérieusement, vivre sur un voilier à 9, nous apprend la tolérance et l'écoute. A cela s'ajoute la patience dans nos observations, la nature est imprévisible et sais se faire désirer.
Et puis, vivre sur un voilier, m'a rappelé combien l'eau douce est précieuse.

La mission Cétacés du Pélagos, France

Cétacés du Pélagos, France
Ces expéditions en voilier ont pour objectif d’étudier la biodiversité marine du large en mer méditerranée, dans le sanctuaire Pélagos des mammifères marins. L’équipage recense et note...
Voir la mission