French English

Testimony of Mary for the mission Expeditions in the sanctuary Pelagos: study of Cetaceans and Biodiversity, France

Mission of 7 days performed in July 2019
cybelle.jpg

My participation

What is expected of ecovolunteers is to perform the observation protocol every day (the protocol lasts 2h and is repeated several times a day). We observe the horizon at 3 at the front of the boat and we rotate with the other members by "quarters" and all day. The desire to see animals makes us quickly addicted to observations and finally we can not help but to scan the horizon even if it is not our quarter :) We participated of course in daily tasks such as cleaning and cooking.These moments are actually very friendly.The schedule of the week is organized by the eco -guide which is searchable from the beginning of the stay.Everyone knows what he has to do and it creates a good group dynamics.

My expectations

This stay was above my expectations. I imagined the very mechanical side of observations and everyday life on the boat. Finally, even if the protocols require rigor, they give way to feelings of fullness facing the horizon. I was taken by all the wonderful sensations that comes from meeting marine animals (whales, sperm whales, dolphins, rays, moonfish ...). There are also very strong links with each member of the group. Help, listen, share, laugh. A group cohesion that is warm to the heart! This stay will mark me for life that's for sure.

My advice

Do not hesitate to get started!

What I retain

This mission has given me wings for the continuation of my studies that lead me to the protection of marine ecosystems. The eco-guide and the skipper gave us a lot of knowledge. This trip also brought me a lot humanly.

My assets

It made me very aware of the amount of waste present in the oceans. At each beach where I go now I know that I always pick up all the garbage I see. Otherwise the knowledge I have acquired about the species serves me a lot for my studies.

The Cetaceans mission Pelagos, France

Pelagos Cetacean, France
These sailing expeditions aim to study the marine biodiversity of the open sea in the Mediterranean Sea, in the Pelagos marine mammal sanctuary. The crew records and ...
See Mission

French English

Témoignage de Marie pour la mission Expéditions dans le sanctuaire Pélagos : étude des Cétacés et de la Biodiversité, France

Mission de 7 jours effectuée en juillet 2019
cybelle.jpg

Ma participation

Ce qui est attendu des écovolontaires est d'effectuer le protocole d'observation tous les jours (le protocole dure 2h et est répété plusieurs fois dans la journée). On observe l'horizon à 3 à l'avant du bateau et on tourne avec les autres membres par "quarts' ainsi toute la journée.L'envie de voir des animaux nous rend vite accro aux observations et finalement on ne peut s'empêcher de scruter l'horizon même si ce n'est pas notre quart :). Nous participions bien entendu aux tâches quotidiennes comme le ménage et la cuisine. Ces moments sont en fait très conviviales. Le planning de la semaine est organisé par l'éco-guide qui est consultable dès le début du séjour. Tout le monde sait ce qu'il a à faire et cela crée une bonne dynamique de groupe.

Mes attentes

Ce séjour était au-dessus de mes attentes. Je m'étais imaginé le côté très mécanique des observations et du quotidien sur le bateau. Finalement même si les protocoles nécessitent de la rigueur, ils laissent place à des sentiments de plénitude face à l'horizon. J'ai été prise par toutes les magnifiques sensations que délivre la rencontre avec les animaux marins (rorquals,cachalot, dauphins, raies, poisson-lune...) On lie aussi des liens très forts avec chacun des membres du groupe. Entraide, écoute, partage, rires. Une cohésion de groupe qui fait chaud au cœur ! Ce séjour me marquera à vie c'est certain.

Mes conseils

Ne pas hésiter à se lancer !

Ce que j'en retiens

Cette mission m'a donné des ailes pour la suite de mes études qui me portent vers la protection des écosystèmes marins. L'éco-guide et le skipper nous ont transmis énormément de savoirs. Ce séjour m'a aussi beaucoup apporté humainement.

Mes acquis

Cela m'a beaucoup sensibilisé sur la quantité de déchets présente dans les océans. A chaque plage où je vais maintenant je sais que je ramasse systématiquement tous les déchets que je vois. Autrement les connaissances que j'ai acquise sur les espèces me servent énormément pour mes études.

La mission Cétacés du Pélagos, France

Cétacés du Pélagos, France
Ces expéditions en voilier ont pour objectif d’étudier la biodiversité marine du large en mer méditerranée, dans le sanctuaire Pélagos des mammifères marins. L’équipage recense et...
Voir la mission