French English

Testimony of Emilie for the Amazonian Forest mission: research, conservation, and sustainable development in the Manu Reserve in Peru

Mission of days performed in June 2016

My participation

As a volunteer it is associated with scientific and environmental studies and / or supervised by the Amazon Forest Project: research, conservation, and sustainable development in Peru. The studies are numerous: butterflies, birds, amphibians and reptiles, bats ... The schedule is programmed in advance, every day is different allowing for the chance to participate in everything. Days start with a breakfast 7H the morning before beginning work to 8H 12H30 up for lunch and a recovery in 14H 16 / 17H. Times vary depending on activities (sometimes one can start 4H30 the morning, but in this case we have the morning off). Sunday is free! For more info, I tell more about my blog http://emilie-3i7iw3.wix.com/1-an-pour-ma-planete#!juin-2016/acb0f

My expectations

I loved. I participated in many eco-volunteer projects but this one is my favorite. Beyond the fact that the country is beautiful and being in the Amazon jungle is magical, the work done on site is very interesting and diverse ... and you learn a lot. They put an emphasis on learning, they take the time to train us. They also take trainees for a longer time, and I can only recommend!

My advice

For those who plan to come 2 weeks, know that it takes several days with the return trip from Cusco to the center and the day of acclimatization in Cusco. In short, in the end it is "only" 10 days in the forest which is very little seen all that has to do and see. Privilege stays longer than a month. Even better, the internships of several months! The living conditions on site are at the top for such a remote place. Do not hesitate to come with your favorite sweets, as it is a "rice" diet morning / noon / night. On the other hand, nothing can be done against mosquitoes, spiders, and other biting animals. Be sure you can live with that + with the humidity and warmth of this region. The activities are physical, we walk a lot. Be ready ;)

What I retain

- Better knowledge of the Amazon rainforest and ecological issues that go avec.- Learning the local fauna: different species of birds, butterflies, frogs, snakes ...- And just the feeling of having acted for the good cause

My assets

The preservation of our environment at all levels. For those who have a scientific background / biological / ecological, this mission is for you!

The Amazonian Forest Mission, Manu, Peru

Amazonian Forest, Manu, Peru
It is in the Amazonian forest of Peru, in the Manu reserve, that you can participate in a complete program of conservation, scientific research, and development support ...
See Mission

French English

Témoignage de Emilie pour la mission Forêt Amazonienne : recherche, conservation, et développement durable dans la réserve de Manu au Pérou

Mission de jours effectuée en juin 2016

Ma participation

En tant que volontaire on est associés aux études scientifiques et écologiques menées et/ou supervisées par le projet Forêt Amazonienne : recherche, conservation, et développement durable au Pérou. Les études sont multiples: papillons, oiseaux, amphibiens et reptiles, chauves-souris… Le planning, programmé en avance, est différent tous les jours ce qui permet d’avoir la chance de participer à tout. Les journées commencent avec un petit déjeuner à 7H du matin, avant un début de travail à 8H jusque 12H30 pour le déjeuner et une reprise de 14H à 16/17H. Les horaires varient en fonction des activités (parfois on peut commencer à 4H30 du matin, mais dans ce cas on a la matinée off). Le dimanche est libre! Pour plus d’infos, j’en dis plus sur mon blog http://emilie-3i7iw3.wix.com/1-an-pour-ma-planete#!juin-2016/acb0f

Mes attentes

J’ai ADORE. J’ai participé à de nombreux projets d’éco-volontariat mais celui-ci est mon préféré. Au delà du fait que le pays est magnifique et qu’être dans la jungle amazonienne est magique, le travail fait sur place est très intéressant et divers… et on apprend beaucoup de choses. Ils mettent un accent sur l’apprentissage, ils prennent le temps de nous former. Ils prennent aussi de stagiaires pour une plus longue durée, et je ne peux que le conseiller!

Mes conseils

Pour ceux qui prévoient de venir 2 semaines, sachez qu’il faut compter plusieurs jours avec le trajet aller/retour de Cusco au centre ainsi que la journée d’acclimatation à Cusco. Bref, au final c’est « seulement » 10 jours dans la forêt ce qui est très peu vu tout ce qui a à voir et faire. Privilégiez les séjours de plus d’un mois. Encore mieux, les stages de plusieurs mois! Les conditions de vie sur place sont au top pour un endroit aussi reculé. N’hésitez pas à venir vos douceurs préférées, car c’est régime « riz » matin/midi/soir. Par contre, on ne peut rien faire contre les moustiques, araignées, et autres bébêtes qui piquent. Soyez surs que vous pourrez vivre avec ça + avec l’humidité et la chaleur de cette région. Les activités sont physiques, on marche beaucoup. Soyez prêts ;)

Ce que j'en retiens

- Une meilleure connaissance de la forêt amazonienne et les problématiques écologiques qui vont avec.- L’apprentissage de la faune locale: différentes espèces d’oiseaux, de papillons, de grenouilles, serpents...- Et tout simplement le sentiment d’avoir agi pour la bonne cause

Mes acquis

La preservation de notre environnement à tous les niveaux. Pour ceux qui ont un background scientifique/biologique/ecologique, cette mission est faite pour vous!

La mission Forêt Amazonienne, Manu, Pérou

Forêt Amazonienne, Manu, Pérou
C'est au sein de la forêt Amazonienne du Pérou, dans la réserve de Manu, que vous pouvez participer à un programme complet de conservation, de recherche scientifique, et de soutien au développement...
Voir la mission