French English

Testimony of Léa SABY for the mission Mammals and wildlife of the Amazonian forest in the Tambopata reserve in Peru

Mission of 21 days performed in July 2019

My participation

The activities within the station were very varied. It could be the follow-up of a group of monkeys (its activities, its food ...), transects (survey of the biodiversity on a precise distance), installations of nets for the studies of bats or rats, the creation new paths in the jungle or install / fetch and watch the cameras. The schedules were very variable depending on the activities. Generally we started at 7h30-8h00 up to 12h00 and then 14h00-18h00. We could start earlier (4h00-5h00) when searching for monkeys.

My expectations

My stay at the project has completely exceeded my expectations. Being a student in biology / ecology, I came to volunteer in this biological station to enrich my professional experience. I had the honor to be surrounded by competent but passionate people who have a sense of sharing. I was able, thanks to them, to learn in real conditions, in the field with concrete cases. In addition to a professional experience, this mission was an unforgettable human experience. The mix of culture and knowledge as well as the atmosphere within the resort made me feel so well surrounded.

My advice

As hotels in Puerto Maldonado, I recommend El Fauno or the Tambopata Hostel. You can have a night for really cheap, in dormitories or in more private rooms. They are near the center and have a pool and wifi.
Otherwise, mosquitoes are quite ferocious, the best is to take local repellent, it is more effective.
Finally, with regard to the network and internet access, the easiest way is to take a local sim card with a Peruvian number. Even if having a network at the station is quite difficult, it will allow you to have a good connection in the city.
If you have any questions, do not hesitate to contact Raul, he has always been listening to me and has always taken the time to answer my questions. He is such an inspiring, passionate and intelligent person. He is full of knowledge and thirsty to share his knowledge.

What I retain

This mission brought me a lot of knowledge about the Amazonian fauna and the jungle in general. I was able to go beyond my limits and learn to appreciate each moment. This trip allowed me to be more independent, to go beyond my mental and physical limits but also to discover an incredible culture as well as passionate and caring people.

Contact

You can contact me at the following address if you have questions: This e-mail address is protected against spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Mission Primates and Bats, Peru

Primates and bats, Peru
In the Amazon rainforest of Peru, you participate in research conducted by a team of local specialists, on biodiversity in general and more specifically on primates and ...
See Mission

French English

Témoignage de Léa SABY pour la mission Mammifères et faune sauvage de forêt Amazonienne dans la réserve de Tambopata au Pérou

Mission de 21 jours effectuée en juillet 2019

Ma participation

Les activités au sein de la station étaient très variées. Cela pouvait être du suivit d’un groupe de singes (ses activités, son alimentation…), des transects (relevé de la biodiversité sur une distance précise), des installations de filets pour les études de chauve-souris ou des rats, la création de nouveaux chemins dans la jungle ou encore installer/aller chercher et regarder les caméras. Les horaires étaient très variables en fonction des activités. Généralement nous commencions vers 7h30-8h00 jusqu’à 12h00 puis 14h00-18h00. Nous pouvions être amené à commencer plus tôt (4h00-5h00) lors de la recherche des singes.

Mes attentes

Mon séjour au projet a complètement dépassé mes attentes. Etant étudiante en biologie/écologie, je suis venue faire du volontariat dans cette station biologique pour enrichir mon expérience professionnelle. J’ai eu l’honneur d’être entourée de personnes compétentes mais surtout passionnées qui ont le sens du partage. J’ai pu, grâce à eux, apprendre dans des conditions réelles, sur le terrain avec des cas concrets. En plus d’une expérience professionnelle, cette mission était une expérience humaine inoubliable. Le mélange de culture et de savoir ainsi que l’ambiance au sein de la station m’a fait me sentir si bien entouré.

Mes conseils

Comme hôtels à Puerto Maldonado, je vous conseille El Fauno ou encore le Tambopata Hostel. Vous pouvez avoir une nuit pour vraiment pas cher, dans des dortoirs ou dans des chambres plus privatives. Ils sont près du centre et ont une piscine ainsi que la wifi.
Sinon, les moustiques sont assez féroces, le mieux c’est de prendre du répulsif local, il est plus efficace.
Enfin, en ce qui concerne le réseau et l’accès à internet, le plus simple est de prendre une carte sim locale avec un numéro péruvien. Même si avoir du réseau à la station est assez difficile, cela vous permettra d’avoir une bonne connexion en ville.
Si vous avez des questions, n’hésitez pas à contacter Raul, il a toujours été à mon écoute et a toujours pris le temps de répondre à mes questions. C’est une personne si inspirante, passionnée et intelligente. Il déborde de connaissances et a soif de partager son savoir.

Ce que j'en retiens

Cette mission m’a apporté beaucoup de connaissances sur la faune amazonienne et sur la jungle en général. J’ai pu y dépasser mes limites et apprendre à apprécier chaque moment. Ce séjour m’a permis d’être encore plus indépendante, de dépasser mes limites mentales comme physiques mais aussi de découvrir une culture incroyable ainsi que des personnes passionnées et bienveillantes.

Contact

Vous pouvez me contacter à l'adresse suivante si vous avez des questions : Cette adresse e-mail est protégée contre les robots spammeurs. Vous devez activer le JavaScript pour la visualiser.

La mission Primates et Chauves souris, Pérou

Primates et Chauves souris, Pérou
Dans la forêt amazonienne du Pérou, vous participez aux recherches menées par une équipe de spécialistes locaux, sur la biodiversité en général et plus spécifiquement sur les primates et...
Voir la mission