French English

Eco-volunteering in Portugal

Eco-volunteering in Portugal

Situated on the Atlantic coast of the Iberian Peninsula, in the west of Spain, Portugal is one of the smallest countries in Europe: it extends over 560 km from north to south and only 220 km d ' East to west.
Hedgehogs, rabbits, hares and bats are the mammals that you have the most chance of seeing. In remote areas, perhaps you will see a fox, a deer, an otter or a horde of wild boars. Very rare, the wolf and the Iberian lynx are among the protected species in Portugal. The Egyptian mongoose often crosses the quiet roads of the Algarve. Originally also from Africa, the extraordinary Mediterranean chameleon, which passes from bright yellow to jet black, was introduced to the country about 70 years ago. It lives in the coastal regions to the east of the Algarve and hibernates from December to March. You may see it in the spring move from branch to branch. As for the many species of birds, there are only in the reserves and natural parks that you can observe them: kestrels, flamingos, herons, spoonbills and other waders, not to mention the Spanish imperial eagle, threatened with disappearance.
A third of Portugal's plant species have been imported throughout history: grapevine, lemon, almond, carob, fig, palm, as well as the large white irises along the roads. Two trees have shaped Portugal's landscape and economy: the olive tree, which prefers the southern sun but has become acclimated to certain regions of the north, and the cork oak, which predominates in the dry plains of the Alentejo .

Portugal

Vault Iberian wolf, Portugal

In a sanctuary dedicated to the safeguarding of Iberian wolves, you participate in the daily care provided to the wolves, the behavioral observations and the maintenance of the site which is ...

Last testimonies of ecovolunteers for the country Portugal

Find a job

French English

Ecovolontariat au Portugal

Ecovolontariat au Portugal

Situé sur la façade atlantique de la péninsule Ibérique, à l'ouest de l'Espagne, le Portugal est l'un des plus petits pays d'Europe : il s'étend sur 560 km du nord au sud et seulement 220 km d'est en ouest.
Hérissons, lapins, lièvres et chauves-souris sont les mammifères que vous avez le plus de chances d'apercevoir. Dans les régions reculées, peut-être apercevrez-vous un renard, un chevreuil, une loutre ou une horde de sangliers. Très rares, le loup et le lynx ibérique font partie des espèces protégées au Portugal. La mangouste égyptienne traverse souvent les routes tranquilles de l'Algarve. Originaire lui aussi d'Afrique, l'extraordinaire caméléon méditerranéen, qui passe du jaune vif au noir de jais, a été introduit dans le pays il y a environ 70 ans. Il vit dans les régions côtières à l'est de l'Algarve et hiberne de décembre à mars. Vous le verrez peut-être au printemps passer de branche en branche. Quant aux nombreuses espèces d'oiseaux, il n'y a guère que dans les réserves et les parcs naturels que vous pourrez les observer : crécerelles, flamants roses, hérons, spatules et autres échassiers, sans oublier l'aigle impérial espagnol, menacé de disparition.
Un tiers des espèces végétales du Portugal ont été importées au fil de l'histoire : vigne, citronnier, amandier, caroubier, figuier, palmier, tout comme les grands iris blancs qui bordent les routes. Deux arbres ont façonné le paysage et l'économie du Portugal : l'olivier, qui préfère le soleil du Sud mais s'est acclimaté à certaines régions du Nord, et le chêne-liège, qui prédomine dans les plaines sèches de l'Alentejo.

Portugal

Centre de sauvegarde du loup Ibérique, Portugal

Dans un sanctuaire dédié à la sauvegarde des loups ibériques, vous participez aux soins quotidiens prodigués aux loups, aux observations comportementales et à la maintenance du site qui se trouve...

Derniers témoignages d'écovolontaires pour le pays Portugal

Chercher une mission