Celine's Testimony for the Conservation of Marine Turtles and Tropical Biodiversity Mission in Thailand

day mission in November 2012

My participation

Mainly two types of activities: 1. patrolling the beaches of the island at sunrise (between 6 and 10 km round trip) in search of possible turtle nests and 2. observation of a cove where the turtles come to feed or rest from a rocky promontory. Regular rotation between activities according to the number of volunteers and the preferences or physical constraints of each other. For the patrol activity, departure on foot at 5:30 am in the dark night, but the day breaks very quickly. After the walk, delicious breakfast on the beach (carried in a backpack) and possible rest / swimming before returning to the village for lunch. For the observation activity, departure at 8 am by bike, then session of approximately 2 hours of observation and data collection. In the afternoon, according to needs, activities in the village (DIY, renovation of the museum, reflection on tools for raising awareness of tourists, etc.) or observation from the rocky promontory. At the end of the afternoon, we often had a moment to read sitting in a hammock (the Turtle mission office is full of books on turtles and other species in the region), to discuss with the project manager to learn more. more about the project, life on the island, the ecology of the turtles, etc. Dinner was scheduled for 19 p.m. and we usually didn't stay up late to stay up because we were very tired from our day.

My expectations

I really enjoyed this stay and the people I met there. I was surprised at the somewhat "ghostly" aspect of the village (many uninhabited houses) and the absence of a school (the project brochure was not up to date on this point). The locals were very welcoming but it was difficult to communicate with them as they hardly speak English (and I don't speak Thai at all) ... but the gesture communication worked great! The person who cooks for the volunteers is a real cordon bleu, and very nice. Each meal was a real celebration! I found that the schedule was very well organized but I regretted that we were not given more explanations on the objectives of our work at the start. I went to look for the information myself (what is the use of the data collected during the observation sessions, for example) and felt much better once I had understood the meaning of what we were asked to do. to do.

My advice

My main advice is to ask lots of questions to the project manager and her assistants, and to read lots of books or other articles on turtle conservation, in order to better understand the challenges of the work required and the presence of the NGO. on the island. As there was no egg laying during my stay, our protection action was a little abstract and this information input was all the more important.

What I retain

I learned thousands of fascinating things about sea turtles, met great people and lived in an incredibly beautiful environment during these two weeks. This mission made me want to continue my commitment to biodiversity and to start again.

The mission Turtles, Thailand

sea ​​turtles, Thailand
This eco-volunteering mission is dedicated mainly to marine turtles in Thailand, as well as to the conservation of local biodiversity. You will participate in the program of ...
See Mission

Témoignage de Celine pour la mission Conservation des tortues marines et de la biodiversité tropicale en Thaïlande

Mission de jours effectuée en novembre 2012

Ma participation

Principalement deux types d'activités : 1. patrouiller les plages de l'île au lever du soleil (entre 6 et 10 km aller-retour) à la recherche d'éventuels nids de tortues et 2. observation d'une crique où les tortues viennent se nourrir ou se reposer depuis un promontoire rocheux. Rotation régulière entre les activités selon le nombre de volontaires et les préférence ou contraintes physiques des uns et des autres. Pour l'activité de patrouille, départ à pied à 5h30 dans la nuit noire, mais le jour se lève très vite. Après la marche, délicieux petit-déjeuner sur la plage (emporté dans un sac à dos) et repos/baignade possible avant de revenir au village pour le déjeuner. Pour l'activité d'observation, départ à 8h à vélo, puis session d'environ 2h d'observation et relevé de données. L'après-midi, selon les besoins, activités au village (bricolage, rénovation du musée, réflexion sur des outils de sensibilisation des touristes, etc.) ou observation depuis le promontoire rocheux. En fin d'après-midi, nous avions souvent un moment pour lire installés dans un hamac (le bureau de la mission Tortues regorge de livres sur les tortues et autres espèces de la région), de discuter avec la responsable du projet pour en apprendre davantage sur le projet, la vie sur l'île, l'écologie des tortues, etc. Le dîner était programmé pour 19h et généralement, nous ne restions pas très tard à veiller car nous étions bien fatigués de notre journée.

Mes attentes

J'ai beaucoup apprécié ce séjour et les personnes que j'y ai rencontrées. J'ai été surprise de l'aspect quelque peu "fantomatique" du village (beaucoup de maison inhabitées) et de l'absence d'école (la brochure du projet n'était pas à jour sur ce point). Les habitants étaient très accueillants mais il était difficile de communiquer avec eux car ils ne parlent presque pas anglais (et moi pas du tout thaï)... mais la communication gestuelle fonctionnait très bien ! La personne qui cuisine pour les volontaires est un vrai cordon bleu, et très gentille. Chaque repas était une véritable fête! J'ai trouvé que le planning était très bien organisé mais j'ai regretté qu'on ne nous donne pas plus d'explications sur les objectifs de notre travail au départ. Je suis allée chercher moi-même les informations (à quoi servent les données collectée lors des sessions d'observation, par exemple) et me suis sentie beaucoup mieux une fois que j'avais bien compris le sens de ce qu'on nous demandait de faire.

Mes conseils

Mon principal conseil est de poser plein de questions à la responsable du projet et ses assistants, et de lire plein de livres ou autres articles sur la conservation des tortues, afin de mieux appréhender les enjeux du travail demandé et de la présence de l'ONG sur l'île. Comme il n'y a pas eu de ponte lors de mon séjour, notre action de protection était un peu abstraite et cet apport d'information était d'autant plus important.

Ce que j'en retiens

J'ai appris des milliers de choses fascinantes sur les tortues marines, j'ai rencontré des gens formidables et vécu dans un environnement incroyablement beau pendant ces deux semaines. Cette mission m'a donné envie de poursuivre mon engagement pour la biodiversité et de repartir.

La mission Tortues marines, Thaïlande

Tortues marines, Thaïlande
Cette mission d'écovolontariat est dédiée principalement aux tortues marines en Thaïlande, ainsi qu'à la conservation de la biodiversité locale. Vous participerez au programme de...
Voir la mission