Testimony of Dominique for the mission Conservation of marine turtles and tropical biodiversity in Thailand

day mission conducted in March 2013

My participation

Several options in the morning: 1) Departure at 6 am for the "beach-check", ie a walk of about 7km, including 5 on the beach, in order to check if a turtle has come to lay eggs during the night. Arrival at the meeting point around 8 am-8:30am. Breakfast on the beach, then free time. 2) After having lunch, departure around 7 am to reach the rally point by bike (about 45km, including 4km on sand, sporty!), Then about 1km of walking on the beach. Once arrived: weather reports then "observation from the rocks" from 1:9 am to 30:11 am. This consists of the very careful monitoring of an area of ​​water, and the possible presence of turtles. If so: identification, behavioral observation, etc. 30) Departure at 3 am for a more substantial "beach-check" on the long beach. Departure in a sidecar, then a 5km walk on the beach to reach the meeting point, and also the starting point in this case. From this point, minimum walk of 30km. We also did some "beach-profiling". Around 1:10 a.m., the whole team returned at the same time. Those who have walked the most will be entitled to the sidecar. The others, on the bike. Meal at 11 p.m. Free afternoon until around 45 p.m. We took the opportunity to rest or to take walks in the savannah, to take photos. Hottest time of the day, around 13 ° C. Around 16 p.m .: Theoretical information, activities at the association's house, bicycle review, various work, watering the plants. But also: outing in the savannah to introduce us to carnivorous plants, or even study of the seagrass during low tide. Dinner at 37 p.m. Free evening.

My expectations

I enjoyed this stay very much, although it must have taken 3-4 days to acclimatize and get used to it. It is a radical change of life, and a deep questioning. Accepting its occidentality was my main discovery ... Guaranteed slap! But how beneficial ... After this period of adaptation, everything went very quickly. I cannot say if the stay met my expectations. It was different from what I expected, but it completely satisfied me.

My advice

Plan to take care of your feet! If you take the driver option, it is desirable to pay 2500 Baths rather than $ 75. If you want to make a subscription for your mobile phone by taking a Thai SIM card, and you have an iPhone: ESPECIALLY DO IT AT THE AIRPORT! I wanted to save time for the person waiting for me, and since he didn't speak English, he didn't understand that I wanted to go and buy this. We stopped on the way, but ... I couldn't find my happiness. Not a drama in itself, but it made me lose even more bearings. Finally, an interesting experience (cf. my need for organization, that things go as I planned, and also on the link that is necessary for me with my close family).

My assets

Patience, humility, tolerance, ecology, respect, openness, consciousness. ... And want to start again!

The mission Turtles, Thailand

sea ​​turtles, Thailand
This eco-volunteering mission is dedicated mainly to marine turtles in Thailand, as well as to the conservation of local biodiversity. You will participate in the program of ...
See Mission

Témoignage de Dominique pour la mission Conservation des tortues marines et de la biodiversité tropicale en Thaïlande

Mission de jours effectuée en mars 2013

Ma participation

Plusieurs options le matin : 1) Départ à 6h pour le "beach-check", soit une marche d'environ 7km, dont 5 sur la plage, afin de vérifier si une tortue est venue pondre pendant la nuit. Arrivée au point de ralliement vers 8h-8h30. Petit-déjeuner sur la plage, puis temps libre. 2) Après avoir déjeuné, départ vers 7h45 pour rejoindre le point de ralliement en vélo (environ 4km, dont 1km sur du sable, sportif!), puis environ 1km de marche sur la plage. Une fois arrivés: relevés météo puis "observation depuis les rochers" de 9h30 à 11h30. Cela consiste en la surveillance très attentive d'une zone d'eau, et de la présence éventuelle de tortues. Si c'est le cas: identification, observation comportementale, etc. 3) Départ à 5h30 pour un "beach-check" plus conséquent, sur la longue plage. Départ en side-car, puis 1km de marche sur la plage pour arriver au point de ralliement, et également le point de départ dans ce cas. Depuis ce point, marche minimum de 10km. Nous avons également fait du "beach-profiling". Vers 11h45, toute l'équipe rentre en même temps. Ceux qui ont le plus marché auront droit au side-car. Les autres, au vélo. Repas à 13h.Après-midi libre jusqu'à environ 16h. Nous en profitions pour nous reposer ou pour faire des promenades dans la savane, des photos. Moment le plus chaud de la journée, environ 37° de moyenne.Vers 16h : Informations théoriques, activités à la maison de l'association, révision des vélos, travaux divers, arrosage des plantes. Mais aussi: sortie en savane pour nous présenter les plantes carnivores, ou encore étude de l'herbier marin lors de marée basse. Souper à 19h. Soirée libre.

Mes attentes

J'ai beaucoup apprécié ce séjour, même si j'ai bien dû prendre 3-4 jours pour m'acclimater et m'habituer. Il s'agit d'un changement radical de vie, et d'une profonde remise en question. Accepter son occidentalité a été ma principale découverte... Claque assurée! Mais ò combien bénéfique... Après ce temps d'adaptation, tout a été très vite. Je ne peux pas dire si le séjour a répondu à mes attentes. Il a été différent de ce que j'attendais, mais il m'a complètement satisfaite.

Mes conseils

Prévoyez de quoi soigner vos pieds! Si vous prenez l'option du chauffeur, il est souhaitable de payer 2500 Baths plutôt que 75 $. Si vous souhaitez faire un abonnement pour votre téléphone mobile en prenant une carte SIM Thaï, et que vous avez un Iphone: SURTOUT FAITES-LE A L’AÉROPORT! J'ai voulu faire gagner du temps à la personne qui m'attendait, et comme il ne parlait pas anglais, il n'a pas compris que je souhaitais aller acheter cela. On s'est arrêtés en route, mais... je n'ai pas pu trouver mon bonheur. Pas un drame en soit, mais cela m’a fait perdre encore plus de repères. Finalement, expérience intéressante (cf. mon besoin d’organisation, que les choses se passent comme je l’ai prévu, et également sur le lien qui m’est nécessaire avec ma famille proche).

Mes acquis

Patience, modestie, tolérance, écologie, respect, ouverture, conscience. Et... envie de recommencer!

La mission Tortues marines, Thaïlande

Tortues marines, Thaïlande
Cette mission d'écovolontariat est dédiée principalement aux tortues marines en Thaïlande, ainsi qu'à la conservation de la biodiversité locale. Vous participerez au programme de...
Voir la mission