French English

VSC Panorama WhaleCivic Service: "Cetacean Monitoring and Participatory Science at Sea" M / F

Recruitment context and job description:

Cybelle Méditerranée is a participatory science program at sea, created by the association in 2007, which aims to improve knowledge on marine marine fauna (cetaceans, rays and sharks, turtles ...).

  • A community of more than 1500 volunteer observers (boaters, professionals of the sea, etc ...) reports us their observations at sea.
  • Expeditions in the Pelagos Sanctuary organized each year between June and September allow volunteers to participate in the collection of data at sea following a scientific protocol, and under the supervision of a / ecoguide, aboard a sailboat.

Cybelle Planète is in charge of animating and developing the network of contributors, training the eco-guides, organizing sailboat expeditions, validating the data and organizing photo-identification catalogs of cetaceans, and performing assessments.

The association also administers a network for sharing and collecting data in the Mediterranean Sea: OBSenMER Mediterranean. 18 structures contribute to the network currently and share their data in a common database.

Panorama VSC adObjectives of the project, the action:

As part of the participatory science program, our main goals for 2019 are:

  • To develop the network of contributors: boaters, professionals of the sea, nautical association ... who go out to sea frequently and announce us their observations. Our goal is to collect more and more data: information about animals and their environment.
  • Regularly animate the network already in place to retain the contributors and motivate them to collect data at sea: validation of data, holding booths on nautical or naturalistic events, conferences, meetings on ports ...
  • Organize sailing expeditions 2019: training of eco-guides, general organization of 3 months of sea outing, ...
  • Review the information collected by contributors and updates of cetacean photo-identification catalogs. We hope to publish the first reports by the end 2019.
  • Continue the animation of the OBSenMER Mediterranean network so that a maximum of structures use the tools for the collection of data at sea and their sharing.

Further information :

Where: Villeneuve-lès-Maguelone (34 - Herault - Languedoc-Roussilon),

When: Starting the 14 January 2019 (8 month, 30h / week),

How many positions are available: 1,

End of application: 31 / 12 / 2018,

The mission is accessible to minors from 16 years: No.

Application (CV and cover letter) to be sent to Mrs Arnal, Director of the association Cybelle Planète, at the following e-mail address: This e-mail address is protected against spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Online offer on the civic service website.

French English

Annonce VSC Rorqual format panoramaService Civique : "Suivi Cétacés et Sciences Participatives en mer" H/F

Contexte du recrutement et définition de poste :

Cybelle Méditerranée est un programme de sciences participative en mer, créé par l'association en 2007, qui a pour objectif d'améliorer la connaissance sur la faune marine du large (cétacés, raies et requins, tortues...).

  • Une communauté de plus de 1500 observateurs bénévoles (plaisanciers, professionels de la mer, etc...) nous signale leurs observations en mer.
  • Les Expéditions dans le Sanctuaire Pélagos organisées chaque année entre Juin et Septembre permettent à des volontaires de participer à la collecte de données en mer suivant un protocole scientifique, et sous l'encadrement d'un/une écoguide, à bord d'un voilier.

Cybelle Planète se charge d'animer et de développer le réseau de contributeurs, former les écoguides, organiser les expéditions en voilier, valider les données et organiser les catalogues de photo-identification de cétacés, et d'effectuer des bilans.

L'association administre également un réseau de partage et de collecte de données en mer Méditerranée : OBSenMER Méditerranée. 18 structures contribuent au réseau actuellement et partagent leurs données dans une base de données commune.

Annonce VSC format panoramaObjectifs du projet, de l'action : 

Dans le cadre du programme de sciences participatives, nos principaux objectifs pour 2019, sont de : 

  • Développer le réseau de contributeurs : plaisanciers, professionnels de la mer, association nautiques...qui sortent en mer fréquemment et nous signalent leurs observations. Notre objectif est de collecter toujours plus de données : d'informations sur les animaux et leur environnement.
  • Animer régulièrement le réseau déjà en place pour fidéliser les contributeurs et les motiver à collecter des données en mer : validation des données, tenue de stands sur des évènements nautiques  ou naturalistes, conférences, rencontres sur les ports...
  • Organiser les expéditions en voilier 2019 : formation des écoguides, organisation générale des 3 mois de sortie en mer,...
  • Effectuer les Bilans sur les informations récoltées par les contributeurs et mises à jour des catalogues de photo-identification des cétacés. Nous espérons publier les premiers bilans d'ici la fin 2019.
  • Poursuivre l'animation du réseau OBSenMER Méditerranée pour qu'un maximum de structures utilisent les outils pour la collecte de données en mer et leur partage.

Informations complémentaires : 

Où : Villeneuve-lès-Maguelone (34 -  Hérault - Languedoc-Roussilon),

Quand : À partir du 14 Janvier 2019 (8 mois, 30h/semaine),

Combien de postes disponibles : 1,

Date de fin de candidature : 31/12/2018,

La mission est accessible aux mineurs dès 16 ans : Non.

Candidature (CV et lettre de motivation) à adresser à Madame Arnal, Directrice de l'association Cybelle Planète, à l'adresse e-mail suivante : Cette adresse e-mail est protégée contre les robots spammeurs. Vous devez activer le JavaScript pour la visualiser..

Offre en ligne sur le site de service civique.