French English

The Ramsar Convention on Wetlands of International Importance (1971) defines wetlands as " Marshes, fagnes, bogs or natural or artificial waters, permanent or temporary, where the water is stagnant or current, sweet, brackish or salty, including bodies of marine water whose depth at tide Bass does not exceed six meters ».

Little-known and often misunderstood areas, wetlands are the birthplace of countless animal and plant species, and represent invaluable environmental, socio-economic and health interests. The total area of ​​wetlands has not been accurately defined but is estimated at 6% of the planet's surface area.

Wetlands, invaluable and threatened

During the 20th century, more than half of the world's wetlands disappeared. We have seen a collective awareness since the 1990 years for their conservation and "reconstruction", but they are still very much threatened by intensive agriculture (and the use of fertilizers and pesticides), aquaculture, The development of inadequate watercourses, urbanization, soil pollution, the multiplication of transport routes, etc.

And yet, these territories are among the most productive in the world. Most birds, mammals (including humans), reptiles, amphibians, fish and invertebrates depend on them. Not to mention plant species, such as rice that feeds much of the planet!

Thanks to their powerful purification capacity, they can filter pollution, reduce erosion, contribute to the renewal of groundwater, naturally store carbon, protect against floods and droughts. In addition to the value they represent for preserving biodiversity, wetlands are an essential source of income and well-being for many peoples (fishing, hunting, freshwater, tourism, salt production, etc.). ).

Mangrove forests: CO2 wells to preserve!

It is only very recently that the importance of mangroves in the compensation of CO2 planetary has been highlighted. This ecosystem is a large CO2 storer, even more important than boreal, temperate or tropical forests. Deforestation of mangrove forests, which represent less than 1% of the tropical forest area, could contribute to more than 10% of global CO2 emissions from deforestation.

Although reserves of CO2 in other types of tropical forests have been assessed, the amount of CO2 stored in mangrove forests is still largely ignored, although these are present in more than 100 countries. It is therefore urgent to carry out actions of protection and reforestation of mangroves, but also ecological monitoring of these!

Study and Conservation of Otter long tail, Brazil

The project's main objective is to study and protect otters in Brazil. This eco-volunteering mission offers you the opportunity to study wild long-tailed otters in their ...

Ecological monitoring and surveillance in the reserve ...

Ecological monitoring in a community reserve of South Benin During this mission, you will contribute to the ecological monitoring and the surveillance in ...

Study of the mangrove birds of the coastal lagoon at ...

This mission is for those who like to observe birds! You participate in the development of an eco-development program in Benin focused on the bird fauna of wetlands. You...

Protection and study of primates in Benin

Restoration of primate habitat in the Mono Valley, Benin This mission immerses you in an eco-development program in Benin. The project aims to set up a ...

Mangrove planting and environmental education ...

During this mission you will have the opportunity to contribute to a mangrove reforestation program Ahémé Lake and Avloh and Benin and environmental education. This program is ...

Conservation of Utila Black Iguana in Honduras

This project is dedicated mainly to the Utila Black Iguana, endemic to this small island in Honduras. This iguana is in critical danger of extinction because of hunting and hunting.

Find a job

French English

La convention de RAMSAR sur les zones humides d’importance internationale (1971), définit les zones humides comme étant « des étendues de marais, de fagnes, de tourbières ou d’eaux naturelles ou artificielles, permanentes ou temporaires, où l’eau est stagnante ou courante, douce, saumâtre ou salée, y compris des étendues d’eau marine dont la profondeur à marée basse n’excède pas six mètres ».

Territoires peu connus et souvent mal considérés, les zones humides sont le berceau d’une quantité incalculable d’espèces animales et végétales, et représentent des intérêts environnementaux, socio-économiques et sanitaires inestimables. La superficie totale des zones humides n’a pas été définie avec exactitude, mais elle est estimée à 6% de la superficie émergée de la planète.

Les zones humides, une valeur inestimable et menacée

Durant le XXème siècle, plus de la moitié des zones humides mondiales a disparu. Nous assistons à une prise de conscience collective depuis les années 1990 pour leur conservation et « reconstruction », mais elles restent tout de même très menacées par l’agriculture intensive (et l’utilisation d’engrais et de pesticides), l’aquaculture, les aménagements des cours d’eaux inadaptés, l’urbanisation, la pollution des sols, la multiplication des voies de transport, etc…

Et pourtant, ces territoires sont parmi les plus productifs du monde. La plupart des oiseaux, mammifères (y compris l’Homme), reptiles, amphibiens, poissons et invertébrés en dépendent. Sans oublier les espèces végétales, comme le riz qui nourrit une grande partie de la planète !

Grâce à leur pouvoir d’épuration important elles permettent de filtrer les pollutions, réduire l’érosion, contribuer au renouvellement des nappes phréatiques, stocker naturellement le carbone, protéger des crues et des sécheresses. En plus de la valeur qu’elles représentent pour la préservation de la biodiversité, les zones humides sont une source incontournable de revenus et de bien-être pour beaucoup de peuples (pêche, chasse, eau douce, tourisme, production de sel, etc…).

Les forêts de mangroves : des puits de CO2 à préserver !

Ce n’est que très récemment que l’importance des mangroves dans la compensation de CO2 planétaire a été mise en évidence. Cet écosystème est un gros stockeur de CO2, encore plus important que les forêts boréales, tempérées ou tropicales. Le déboisement des forêts de mangroves, qui représentent moins d’1% de la superficie forestière tropicale, pourrait ainsi contribuer à plus de de 10% des émissions mondiales de CO2 liées à la déforestation.

Bien que des réserves de CO2 dans d’autres types de forêts tropicales aient été évaluées, la quantité de CO2 stockée dans les forêts de mangroves est encore largement ignorée, même si ces dernières sont présentes dans plus de 100 pays. Il est donc urgent de mener des actions de protection et reforestation des mangroves, mais aussi de suivi écologique de ces dernières !

Etude et conservation de la Loutre à longue queue, Brésil

Le projet a comme principal objectif d'étudier et de protéger les loutres au Brésil. Cette mission d'écovolontariat vous offre l'opportunité d'étudier les loutres à longue queue sauvages dans leur...

Suivi écologique et surveillance dans la réserve...

Suivi écologique dans une réserve communautaire du Sud-Bénin Lors de cette mission, vous contribuerez au suivi écologique et la à surveillance au...

Etude des oiseaux des mangroves de la lagune côtière au...

Cette mission est pour ceux et celles qui aiment observer les oiseaux ! Vous participez au développement d'un programme d'éco-développement au Bénin axé sur la faune aviaire des zones humides. Vous...

Protection et étude des primates au Bénin

Restauration de l'habitat des primates dans la vallée du Mono, Bénin Cette mission vous immerge dans un programme d'éco-développement au Bénin. Le projet vise à mettre en place un...

Plantation de mangroves et éducation environnementale au...

Lors de cette mission, vous aurez l’opportunité de contribuer à un programme de reboisement des mangroves du lac Ahémé et de Avloh et au Bénin et d’éducation à l’environnement. Ce programme est...

Conservation de l'Iguane Noir d'Utila au Honduras

Ce projet est dédié principalement à l'Iguane Noir d'Utila, espèce endémique de cette petite île du Honduras. Cet iguane est en danger critique d'extinction à cause de la chasse et de la...

Chercher une mission